Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s breakfast smoothie

on 15/05/2009

A lovely smoothy

The best kefir in Brussels!

I like smoothies, you like smoothies, everybody loves smoothies, right?
 
A few days ago, I wanted a simple yet healthy breakfast but I didn’t want to make muesli. So I made a breakfast in a smoothie. I made this: it is a drinkable breakfast! It is a power smoothie!
What is Kefir?
Kefir is a fermented milk drink that originates in the Caucasus region. It is prepared by inoculating cow, goat or sheep’s milk with kefir grains.
One can change the nutrient content by simply fermenting for shorter or longer periods. Both stages have different health benefits.
Kefir health benefits:
Kefir, over-ripened ( which increases the sour taste ) significantly increases the folic acid content.
Kefir, also helps the lactose – intolerant people, in lactose digestion. It works as a catalyst, making it more digestible then other dairy products. It really works for me, because I am lactose intolerant in high doses of lactose.
Kefir has evidence that it lowers the blood pressure.
It also reduces cholesterol levels.
So, kefir is good for you,…
I buy it in my food health shop. It only has 1.5 % fat.You also can buy kefir in supermarkets but beware: they will contain cream!
 
How to use?
I make smoothies with it
pour it on grains & cereals
mix it with blueberries, strawberries, mix it with other fruit,etc.
you can use it in desserts, I replace buttermilk for kefir. I use it in cakes, muffins & banana breads.
 
Printable recipe here!
 
Recipe: For 2 large glasses: so for 2 persons, each 1 glass
Ingredients:
2 large bananas, peeled & cut into chunks
2 tablespoons of ginger syrup
4 heaped tablespoons of full oats
700 ml of unsweetened Kéfir, with least 1.5 % of fat
 
Method:
1. Put everything together in a blender & blend until completely smooth.
Enjoy!
It really fills you up!
I like smoothies, you like smoothies, everybody loves smoothies, right?
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Wake up smoothie
2. A strawberry smoothy & 2 awards
3. Sophie’s hand-made Kefir white organic bread
4. Strawberry & quinoa smoothie with linseed & vanilla
5. Sophie’s quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie
6. A tasty & healthy banana shake
7. Energizing & good for you smoothies & juices

Sophie's Breakfast Smoothie on Foodista

80 responses to “Sophie’s breakfast smoothie

  1. Dirk says:

    What a lovely & yummie smoothie, Sophie! Thanks!

  2. Manon says:

    MMMMMMMM…….Sophie! I love it!!!

  3. Anonymous says:

    This smoothie looks great! Thanks for the info on Kefir: I learned a lot!

  4. A delicious smoothie! Mmmhhh…Cheers,Rosa

  5. Dada says:

    J’aime beaucoup ce ‘lait’ et en smoothie ça doit être délicieux!

  6. This smoothie sounds wonderful! I love the addition of ginger syrup.

  7. I don’t think I’ve seen kefir in the supermarket but I’ve had it at restaurants and it’s delicious. Nice recipe Sophie-it’s true everyone loves smoothies!

  8. doggybloggy says:

    what a great way to start the day….

  9. I wish I had one right now as it’s time to get everyone up….We love smoothies, too, and make them simply with fresh fruit plus frozen bought at TJ’s–the frozen not only adds flavor but icy thickness so we don’t add any yogurt, milk, ice cream or kefir.

  10. Dawn says:

    yes I love kefir, but to be honest I did not know all that history about it, so thank you for sharing. I know it’s really good for you in the probiotic way too, right? not to mention all the calcium us women need. wonderful post Sophie!

  11. This looks delicious, healthy and quick! What’s not to like about that?

  12. Sara says:

    Looks great! I make a smoothie almost every day. My typical blend is half a banana, some berries, a few spoonfuls of yogurt, milk , flax and tofu. It sounds a little weird, but you don’t taste the tofu at all, and it’s so healthy!

  13. Pam says:

    Thanks for the info on Kefir. This smoothie looks wonderful.

  14. Lon has been having breakfast smoothies a lot these days and it’s really helping with his GI problems. =/

  15. I love kefir, so many health benefits. What a nice healthy breakfast! Thank you for sharing!!

  16. Prue Barrett says:

    Yum Sophie – that looks great! Did you make the ginger syrup yourself or did you buy it? Thanks also for your congratulations about the job – I am SO looking forward to it. There is a party for thirty to forty next week so I will be busy!

  17. Yolande says:

    il a l’air délicieux ce smoothie … hummmmm

  18. Juliana says:

    Hi Sophie,I love kefir, as a matter of fact I have every morning, of course not as fancy as the way that you featured in your post…will try the smoothie. Again, thank you so much for visiting my site, I really appreciate your support.

  19. der hasser says:

    hello Sophie, i love your blog. i also love kefir. i just recently started buying it from the local co-op. this morning i had a kefir smoothie. all of your food looks amazing!!!

  20. Your smoothie sounds great with the ginger syrup! And, kefir is so good for. This is a healthy breakfast indeed.

  21. I’m not familiar with Kefir. Thanks for the terrific information as well as a great smoothie recipe.Sam

  22. Jef Boven says:

    What a delicious kefir smoothie! I’d like to have it in my mouth at the moment.Jef

  23. Reeni♥ says:

    This looks great, Sophie! I love smoothies!

  24. Bunny says:

    This would be such a treat for breakfast or anytime! Love it!

  25. oo a healthy smoothie! Love it! I’ve never heard of Kefir, have to look out for it!

  26. donna says:

    Sophie.. This sounds so delicious and perfect for anytime of day..Ginger syrup.. must add so much flavor!

  27. Julia says:

    Wow, never thought of making smoothies with Kefir. What a great idea!!! I love love kefir, more than yogurt (I guess it’s my russian roots speaking).

  28. Netts Nook says:

    Sophie Your smoothies looks perfect. Great Pictures.

  29. Emily says:

    Oh my goooodness.. I love smoothies. I like that you put bananas and oats in this.

  30. zerrin says:

    I love kefir! And this smoothie is a wonderful idea! Good recipe Sophie. But you know how much I love big breakfast, so I can have this smoothie as a dessert at the end of my breakfast. :)

  31. burpandslurp says:

    ooh yes! I’ve heard about the great benefits of kefir…but it’s sour-tasting to drink by itself, so I love your recipe!

  32. Koko says:

    Yumyumyum! I’ve heard of kefir but wasn’t really positive about what it was- thanks for the information on it! This looks so yummy, I would love to try this. Perhaps it will be my breakfast some time this week!

  33. Junglefrog says:

    I love smoothies, although I had never tried it with Kefir, but that is such a great idea!

  34. My father-in-law swears by this! I love your idea of using it as a substitute for buttermilk. I’ll definitely keep that in mind. Thanks for all the great nutritional info.

  35. Diana H says:

    I’ve tried kefir too, it’s very good for you. Does the ginger syrup give it a kick?

  36. Nirvana says:

    Sophie this looks delicious and so healthy! I am in desperate need for a smoothie like this right now – I am having trouble staying awake this morning :)

  37. Jennifer says:

    My bff makes her own kefir and I haven’t tried it because I am lactose intolerant so I’m glad to read that it can help with that…

  38. April says:

    I love kefir and I’ve been craving smoothies with the weather in California getting warmer. Wonderful!

  39. Claudia says:

    I love smoothies for breakfast – it is a staple in the warmer months. Love Kefir and must check out the calories – didn’t realize it had cream!

  40. Carolyn says:

    Well, you know I love Kefir. So this looks amazing to me. Gotta try it!

  41. Jan says:

    I have never heard of kefir – thanks for the info.

  42. ~RED~ says:

    I make a peach ginger smoothie…thanks for the info on kefir

  43. Rebekka says:

    I love kefir and that looks like a perfect recipe!

  44. Sophie says:

    @ everyone: thanks for those lovely comments!@ Dawn: we, women, need our calcium don't we?@ Catherine: thanks for those yummie tips!@ Sara: Sometimes, I make my smoothies like that too, but sometimes we want a change, don't we?@ Prue Barret: I didn't make my own ginger syrop, I bought it at my asian market@ Diana H: the ginger syrop is a lovely addtion, it gives a yummie ginger flavour & a bit of sugar is in there too,…@ Jennifer: my doctor, my gastro – enterologist who discovered my lactose intolerance, said that I am lactose intolerant in high doses so that I can digest Kéfir without cream in it! If you are not sure, ask your doctor before trying!

  45. […] cup pecans, finely chopped with a large knife 2/3 cup organic agave syrup 1 cup unsweetened kefir Extra needed: some milk to brush the scones with & some unrefined coconut blossom sugar, […]

  46. […] pecan smoothie, contains dairy! 3. A Strawberry smoothy, contains dairy: sheep’s yoghurt! 4. Sophie’s breakfast smoothie, contains dairy: […]

  47. Trinity says:

    I don’t normally comment on blogs.. But nice post! I just bookmarked your site

  48. Very interesting details you have noted, thanks for putting up.

  49. Wohh exactly what I was looking for, thanks for putting up.

  50. I’d incessantly want to be update on new blog posts on this web site, saved to fav!

  51. I just wanted to thank you once again for your amazing website you have designed here. It can be full of ideas for those who are really interested in this specific subject, specifically this very post. You’re really all so sweet as well as thoughtful of others plus reading your blog posts is a great delight to me. And what a generous surprise! Dan and I will certainly have pleasure making use of your ideas in what we have to do in a few days. Our list is a kilometer long and simply put tips is going to be put to beneficial use.

  52. Car Forums says:

    I was examining some of your blog posts on this site and I think this internet site is very informative ! Keep posting .

  53. Wohh exactly what I was searching for, regards for putting up.

  54. I have been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this web site. Thank you, I’ll try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your website?

  55. Hey very cool site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also…I am happy to find numerous useful information here in the post, we need develop more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  56. I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You are amazing! Thanks!

  57. Utterly written content, Really enjoyed studying.

  58. I dugg some of you post as I cogitated they were invaluable very beneficial

  59. I went over this website and I conceive you have a lot of great info, saved to bookmarks (:.

  60. Real nice design and good subject material, hardly anything else we need :D.

  61. certainly like your web site but you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very bothersome to tell the reality however I’ll surely come back again.

  62. Jada Ducayne says:

    I am not rattling fantastic with English but I line up this rattling leisurely to understand.

  63. I’ve been surfing online greater than three hours as of late, yet I never found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It’s beautiful price enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the internet will probably be a lot more helpful than ever before. “Where facts are few, experts are many.” by Donald R. Gannon.

  64. Real nice design and style and wonderful content material , nothing at all else we want : D.

  65. What a great website. I am happy I found it.It’s nice to read something interesting I cannot find subscription list

  66. Good blog! I really love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day! “A rut is a grave with the ends knocked out.” by Laurence J. Peter.

  67. Really fantastic info can be found on web blog .

  68. That is very interesting, You are an overly skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to looking for extra of your wonderful post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  69. Thank you! It is very good information

  70. […] & pecan smoothy ( Gluten-Free, Vegetarian ) 4. A strawberry smoothy ( Gluten-Free, Vegetarian ) 5. Breakfast smoothy ( Vegetarian ) 6. Wake up Smoothy ( Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian ) Advertisement […]

  71. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  72. […] flakes with banana, roasted pecans, milk & agave syrup 3. A strawberry smoothie & 2 awards 4. Sophie’s breakfast smoothie 5. Wake up smoothie 6. Energizing & good-for-you smoothies & juices Strawberry & […]

  73. […] Mix well with a spoon. Taste again. 3. Pour it in 2 beautiful glasses & enjoy! You might like: 1. Sophie’s breakfast smoothie 2. Sophie’s wake up smoothie 3. Sophie’s quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie 4. […]

  74. […] shake 3. Strawberry & quinoa smoothy with flax-seed & vanilla 4. A strawberry smoothy 5. Sophie’s breakfast smoothy 6. Wake-up smoothy Sophie’s Quinoa, Banana & Pecan Smoothie Advertisement […]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,128 other followers

