Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Asian pork with stir fried vegetables

on 06/05/2009

I made this a few days ago. This is a recipe from Bill Granger’s book: Every day. I think this is easy & lovely. I adapted it according to my taste.

I serve it with rice & some chopped unsalted peanuts. The peanuts give a bite to the dish.
Recipe: For 2 persons, with a bit of seconds
Ingredients:
2 tablespoons of peanut oil
250 gr pork fillet, cleaned & cut into strips or into little pieces
* For the sauce, that I use to marinate the pork pieces in:
2 tablespoons of rice wine
2 tablespoons of light soy sauce
2 teaspoons of sesame oil
2 teaspoons of brown caster sugar
*For the rest:
2 teaspoons of fresh ginger, peeled with a vegetable peeler, finely cut up or grated
1 teaspoon of cornflour ( cornstrach )
1 medium red bell pepper, cleaned, pits & white bits removed & cut into little pieces
1 medium green bell pepper, cleaned, pits & white bits removed & cut into little pieces
1 cucumber, washed, dried with kitchen paper, seeds removed & cut into little pieces
4 spring onions, cleaned & cut into little rings
* Serve with:
 brown or white rice
a handful of chopped unsalted peanuts
Method:
1. First make the marinade: Mix every ingredient for the marinade together & put it in a bowl. Place the pork pieces in it & place into the fridge. Let it marinate for 20 à 30 minutes.
2. Heat a wok onto high.  Pour 1 tablespoon of the peanut oil in it. Swirl it around into the wok. Lift the pork out of the marinade. Stir 1 teaspoon of cornstarch in the rest of the marinade. Stir until dissolved.
Stir fry the pork pieces for about 3 to 5 minutes until just cooked trough. Remove from the wok. Set aside.
3. Put the wok on medium. Add the rest of the peanut oil & when hot, add the ginger & the chopped spring onions. Stir fry for about 1 to 3 minutes. Now, add the cut up vegetables. Stir fry them for about 2 to 4 minutes. Then, add the pork & the sauce to the wok. Stir fry until it is all hot & just cooked trough.
4. Take your plate & serve with hot rice & some chopped unsalted peanuts over the top!
This is lovely enjoyed with a Singha Thai beer.
54 responses to “Asian pork with stir fried vegetables

  1. doggybloggy says:

    good looking stirfry you got there….

  2. Dirk says:

    MMMMM…Sophie! This dish looks yummie!! Love it!

  3. Juliana says:

    Yummie…I just need a bowl of white rice to go with it! It is a feast!

  4. This sounds fantastic with the crunchy peanuts on top!

  5. Carolyn says:

    This looks so good. I love peanuts in my chinese food. You could also add some chili peppers and make it a little spicy, which would be even better with Singha beer!

  6. Diana H says:

    This looks delicious. I’ve never thought of using cucumber in my stir fry. I don’t think I’ve ever cooked a cucumber before – something new to try.

  7. Manon says:

    Yummie Sophie! Looks like a tasty stir fry!! Thanks!

  8. Hermana says:

    Yum! Yum! Yum! yum! Yum! yum! yum!!!!!

  9. Emily says:

    Yum! I’m starving and this sounds so good!

  10. A lovely dish! I really love stir-fries!Cheers,Rosa

  11. Daily Spud says:

    I’m a big fan of peanuts in stirfry and I’m also a big fan of singha beer, yum!

  12. Debbie says:

    Oh that dish looks wonderful. Love stir fry foods with some white rice on the side…yum!

  13. Hi Sophie! How u been? I really love your blog!Kim

  14. Sounds delish, Sophie! Perfect with the beer!

  15. I love stir fries and this looks fantastic Sophie! I love how you make food from all over the world :)

  16. Sara says:

    This sounds delicious. I’ve been making a lot of stir fries lately – beef, chicken, but I haven’t done pork yet. Can’t wait to try it!

  17. Perfect for us! I love making meals like this during the week–I double the recipe and we have it twice…or I sent leftovers to school with my daughter for lunch. Thanks.

  18. Jef Boven says:

    Hi, Sophie! What a lovely pic in a wok! The food, too, looks marvellous! You know, I like porc and vegetables.Jef Boven

  19. Pam says:

    This looks delicious. I love the sound of the marinade.

  20. This looks delicious. I love pork and I’m always looking for new ways to cook it. Thank you!

  21. ~Dana says:

    This looks amazing!

  22. Sophie,As always, your dish looks lovely.FYI: From what I found, the name snickerdoodle is either derived from German, or came from 18th century New England where they liked to name their cookies very fanciful names like Joe Frogger. I didn’t dig too deeply, but it is interesting!

  23. This looks wonderful. Cucumber is a great ingredient – people rarely expect it!

  24. I love the variety of food you post – always something that gives me ideas for what to make for dinner.

  25. nurit - 1fff says:

    I love these kinds of meals, easy and with lots of good ingredients.

  26. Olga says:

    That so looks like something I’d order at a restaurant.

  27. clemence says:

    le genre de plat que j’adore ! miam !

  28. Junglefrog says:

    That looks delicious. I love all good stirfry dishes. It is so easy for any weekdays and it always makes me feel healthy somehow!

  29. Sara says:

    Looks wonderful! I love asian pork dishes, they are so full of flavor.

  30. Love a good stir fry. The peanuts are the kicker!

  31. Bunny says:

    I’m bookmarking this one, it looks terrific!!

  32. burpandslurp says:

    you’re right! chopped roasted peanuts would be the PERFECT addition! this looks amazingly simple yet delicious!

  33. looks good love how you can print the recipe great idea, how did you do that? Rebecca

  34. Grace says:

    what a delightfully colorful dish! that marinade sounds fantastic–i’m sure it’d be great on chicken, too. and yes to the roasted nuts on top!

  35. I love stir fry and this looks absolutely wonderful. You are so creative in adding the peanuts. i will try that next time!

  36. Claudia says:

    What a fresh, gorgeous stir-fry! I can taste the marinade. Have never used cucumber in a stir fry – that will change. Beautiful photo. And Sophie, I do prefer Buffalo Mozzarella – when I can get it – it comes and goes in MN.

  37. Prue Barrett says:

    Hi Sophie! I think Bill Granger is great as well – his recipes are not outrageously difficult and taste really good. I’m going to make this for dinner. Thanks!

  38. Lisa says:

    Hi Sophie! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. How exciting to have a reader from across the pond!

  39. Hey Sophie, you are great! Being Chinese myself, I think I am qualified to give you an A+ for this dish!

  40. Nicisme says:

    One of my favourite things to eat is a stir-fry, making me soooo hungry!

  41. Sweetie Pie says:

    That dish looks awesome. I do have to say that the meal got even more exciting when you mentioned the Singha. Yum and yum!!

  42. This dish sounds delicious and I love the fact that I have everything at home. Thanks for sharing!

  43. Rebekka says:

    I love the idea of the peanuts!

  44. What could be better than a pork stir fry over freshly steamed rice! Well done!!

  45. Sophie says:

    @ every one: thanks a lot for those great comments!!

  46. Dawn says:

    they say a really good stirfry is so good that the next day it’s tastes even better. I bet this is one of them! I love a good stirfry. Especially on those nights when you’ve had such a hard, LONG day.

  47. Aubrey says:

    This post is very usefull thx!

  48. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and excellent design and style.

  49. It is very good blog

  50. Very good news – thanks!

  51. Very good information – thanks!

  52. Resdources like the one you mentioned here will be very usseful to me! I will post a link to this page on my blog. I am sure my visitors will find that very useful.

  53. Elizabeth says:

    Such a wonderful analysis! I have no clue how you managed to write this text..it’d take me weeks. Well worth it though, I’d suspect. Have you considered selling ads on your website?

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,099 other followers

