Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

My watercress soup

on 18/04/2009

A delightful & good for you watercress soup

I love watercress. It is in season now. I think it is a super vegetable that is well underestimated in Belgium.

It is so healthy & has a special, unique & peppery flavour. I love to add it to salads, serve it with grapefruit & fish cakes, have it in a soup, etc.
A few days ago, I made this soup.
Printable Recipe Here!
Recipe: For 5 people, 1 medium-sized bowl of soup
Ingredients:
4 bunches of fresh watercress, well washed, cleaned & earth cut off, cut up
1.5 large white onion, peeled & finely cut up
3 dried bay leaves
1200 ml of gluten-free vegetable stock
2 medium potatoes, peeled & washed & cut up into little chunks
grinned black pepper
soy baking margarine
Method:
1. Take a large cooking pot or a steam-cooker. Melt a bit of baking margarine in the pot. Heat up on medium high.
2. When the baking margarine has melted, add the chopped up onion & let it sweat. Cook for about 8 minutes or until brown. Stir from time to time.
3. Now, add the cut up potatoes. Stir. Cook for about 5 to 8 minutes.
4. Add the watercress, the dried bay leaves & add the vegetable stock. Stir well.
5. Now, take your lid & put it onto the steam cooking pot. ( a steam pot )
6. Turn the heat on high. Let it stand there for about 10 minutes or until the cooking pot sizzles for a long time. Now, turn the heat off. Carefully, take the pot away from the heat. With a wooden spoon, open the valve from the steamer. Let the air sizzle out until there is no more steam left. Carefully remove the steaming lid. Take out your 3 bay leaves. Mix the soup. Taste. Add seasoning according to taste. I added 3 grinds of black pepper. But if you don’t have that, cook the soup until the potatoes are cooked trough. Then pull the 3 bay leaves out, mix & do the same.
Enjoy!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Potato & watercress mash with orange zested fish
35 responses to “My watercress soup

  1. Dirk says:

    MMMMM..Sophie, your soup looks delicious!! Yum!

  2. Moona says:

    I also love watercress!! Your soup looks great!

  3. Susie says:

    Yum! yum! yum!

  4. Anonymous says:

    This soup looks georgous green & so good,….

  5. I love watercress too but always seem to find slugs in it so I get hubby to pick through it and wash it. It’s so good in soups I agree and that looks fantastic (great for weight loss too) :)

  6. burpandslurp says:

    I looove all things green, so this soup looks so appealing to me! I love watercress too for its sharp, distinct taste! would definitely stir in yogurt at the end, though. mmm!

  7. This sounds like a perfect spring soup! Fresh and lovely.Could you send me your email address to lisa at cyklops dot com, and I’ll reply with the recipe you asked about?

  8. Elra says:

    I never had watercress soup before, it does sound appealing. Look very refreshing Sophie.Have a great week ends,Elra

  9. watercress tastes funny to me (I’m not even goign to say what it tastes like!)… I wonder if its like cilantro where some people taste it totally differently.

  10. Sophie, blog hugs!

  11. Grace says:

    i’ve never seen watercress incorporated into a soup before–it’s terrific! the color’s stunning, it’s healthy, and i’ll bet it tastes terrific.

  12. Sapuche says:

    I like watercress, but somehow I haven’t had it in ages. This looks like a great soup to get reintroduced to it!

  13. Reeni♥ says:

    I don’t know if I’ve ever eaten watercress. It is highly underestimated here in the U.S. too. It looks delicious, I like that you added potatoes to it!

  14. Nurit - 1fff says:

    watercress is underestimated here too. I have to try make these kinds of soup with leafy greens, lettuce, and such. Sound so healthy and good.

  15. I’ve never had a watercress soup, but now I need to.

  16. Jan says:

    I have looked for watercress in the stores here with no success, the solution – we’ll grow our own. This soup looks fabulous, Sophie.

  17. Cynthia says:

    I’ve only ever had watercress in a salad, never tried it in a soup.

  18. I’ve never had watercress soup before and this looks delicious. I’d love a nice soft breadroll to go with it!

  19. Superbe ce blog… de magniqique recette.. Bon dimanche:lorent et ses 2900 Taille-crayons…

  20. Watercress soup sound lovely for spring! Yum!

  21. clemence says:

    miam, de quoi se remettre d’un repas trop lourd…

  22. Carolyn says:

    I’ve never had watercress soup. It sounds good. And no cream? I like how you thickened it with potatoes.

  23. Lori says:

    Looks tastey. I have never tried watercress, hard to believe. The watercress I see at the store right now doent look very good. When I see some fresh watercress I know I will have to try it!

  24. Kat says:

    I love soups like this. I’m not sure I can get watercress here, but I’ll go and check it out ASAP.

  25. Danielle says:

    I just bought some watercress yesterday and will be giving this soup a try for sure!

  26. Daily Spud says:

    I love watercress, though I don’t actually have it that often and I’ve never made soup with it, I’ve always just had it raw in salads. The soup sounds very good, though!

  27. gaga says:

    I’ve never had watercress soup but I love watercress and I love soups. It looks fantastic.

  28. Benjamin says:

    MMMM…Sophie! I adore watercress!! Looks lovely!!

  29. Nenita Ward says:

    You are a very clever person!

  30. Lauren says:

    This is a really great blog. Thx to the auther

  31. Dedra Tierce says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually know what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Please also visit my web site =). We could have a link exchange arrangement between us!

  32. Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  33. What a great website. I am happy I found it.It’s nice to read something interesting I cannot find subscription list

  34. Good day, friend dear sir, great site!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 868 other followers

