Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Lovely lemon shortbread cookies

on 15/04/2009

Delightful lemony shortbread cookies! yum!

I made these lovely lemon shortbread cookies for easter. It was a long time ago that I have made cookies. I didn’t want chocolate ones so I made these.
They are crumbly & buttery like shortbread should be. They are a bit different with the grinned lemon zest in them. You can taste a hint of lemon without it overpowering the cookies.
Printable Recipe here!
Recipe: For about 50 small & medium-sized cookies
Ingredients:
150 gr lightly salted butter, softened
75 gr of icing sugar
225 gr plain flour, sifted
1 tablespoon of milk
grated rind of 1 lemon
Method:
1. Take your Kenwood or Kitchen Aid & put the K-paddle in. Place the softened butter together with the icing sugar in the bowl & beat until pale & fluffy.
2. Stir in the sifted flour.
3. Add the milk & the lemon rind.
4. Now, mix everything until it is well combined.
5. Take the dough out of the bowl & mix 1 minute with your hands. Form a thick ball & place into cling film & put away into the fridge for about 30 minutes to stiff up.
Later on, it will be much easier to roll out the dough to use cookie cutters.
6. After 30 minutes in the fridge, preheat the oven to 175°C. for about 10 minutes.
7. On a well floured chopping board, take the dough out of the cling film & cut into 2. Use 1 part & roll out to 5 mm thick. Put flour onto the rolling-pin & it will be easier to roll the dough out.
Use your favourite cookie cutters & re-roll the rest of the dough again & again. Place the cookies on a Silpat or on baking sheets & bake for about 10 to 15 minutes into the center of the oven until they are a bit browned on the edges.
8. Carefully, take them out of the oven & place on a wire rack to cool down.
9. Take your second part of the dough & do the same.
10. These cookies are lovely with a good cup of coffee or some lemon tea.
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
Lovely Lemon Shortbread Cookies on Foodista
88 responses to “Lovely lemon shortbread cookies

  1. Susanna says:

    MMMM..Sophie! These cookies look delicious!

  2. Pam says:

    Lemon shortbread? What could be better? They look wonderful!

  3. burpandslurp says:

    lemon and butter…mm…luscious! did you know that this week’s BSI ingredient is lemons? maybe you can submit this recipe!

  4. These look wonderful. What is it about Easter that makes everyone have the urge to eat lemon?

  5. clémence says:

    miam, j’adore le citron !

  6. These cookies are sooooo lucky that they aren’t at my house right now, because I’d eat each and every one of them. These sound delicious- thanks for sharing the recipe Sophie!

  7. So cute! And, they sound delicious. This is just my kind of cookie!

  8. Agreed! Buttery shortbread and tart lemon are great together.

  9. Jenn says:

    Sophie, those look sooo cute!!! Like little animal crackers, but so much better!!! I love shortbread, too.

  10. Sapuche says:

    These look like wonderful shortbread cookies! I love the cat and elephant shaped ones the best…Very creative, Sophie!

  11. Shortbread is fabulous! It’s like the perfect cookie! Yours look wonderful!

  12. Sara says:

    What great looking cookies, I love all the different shapes!

  13. Kerstin says:

    They are so cute Sophie! And I love the lemon you added – yum!

  14. did someone say lemon?? hahaha. yum!

  15. Crumbly and buttery shortbread lemon cookies? You are sent from heaven Sophie!

  16. Diana H says:

    Lemon shortbread cookies sound heavenly.

  17. Maris says:

    These look great! I made lemon shortbread cookies today too, actually, lemon AND brown sugar. It looks like yours were as good as mine were :)

  18. Lemon must make these divine. Love the elephant!

  19. Dirk says:

    Waw, Sophie!! These cookies look fantastic!! MMMM…I adore good shortbread with a twist!

  20. Filip says:

    Joepie, kei plezant!

  21. Donna says:

    Oh my these sound delicious Sopihie. Buttery lemon shortbread , oh yes,wonderful. The shapes are so cute too!

  22. ooh, I want the butterfly.

  23. These look delicious! Yummy!Cheers,Rosa

  24. I love the idea of adding lemon to the shortbread cookies. Talk about making them taste light, fresh and full of sunshine! I bet orange or lime zest would work too to change them up depending on your mood.

  25. Koko says:

    Mmmmm! Love the cookie cutters!!!!

  26. Grace says:

    great twist on a super cookie–i’ll bet the lemon adds all kinds of deliciousness. i love your shapes, too. :)

  27. Those cookies are adorable, Sophie! My daughter is demanding that I have to make those for her right away!

  28. Talita says:

    How cute! Really lovely! Surely all these cookies are yummy!

  29. Your lemon shortbread are really pretty, I love the lemon touch especially.

  30. Sophie, they look absolutely amazing! :)Have a nice day and don’t forget about Mayan Magic Giveaway on my site!Margot

  31. Juliana says:

    The cookies look so good! I simple love food with lemon.

  32. WE are on the same wavelength Sophie! I am making shortbread this coming week too. They look divine! :D

  33. Jamie says:

    Mmmmm. Something yummy to make with my new cookie cutters!

  34. Judy says:

    Who doesn’t love shortbread? I love the idea of adding lemon. BTW, I would love to exchange links with you. I’ll add you to my blogroll if you add me to yours. Let me know.

  35. Netts Nook says:

    Oh Sophie your cookies look great I can’t wait to give them a try. Thanks for stopping by and leaving such a nice compliment.

  36. Sylvia says:

    Cookies de limón !!!Que rico, es mi sabor predilectos. Están buenisimos

  37. It looks so cute. Where did you get these animal cookie cutters. I love them!

  38. I bet the lemon is such a great, bright addition here! Delicious!

  39. Lo says:

    Gotta say it… shortbread will win me over EVERY time. I love the fact that these can be made into cut-outs. YUM.Thanks for visiting the Burp! blog… I’ll be back to yours again soon!

  40. My husband loves lemon and shortbread so I will be making this for hime. Wow a comment on my site from so far away. Have a great weekend.

  41. Reeni♥ says:

    These look delicious Sophie! And so cute!

  42. Jan says:

    A perfect combination, shortbread and lemon, yum! I love all the different shapes you’ve used too.

  43. Lemon shortbread sounds wonderful! No need to put frosting on them – the flavors would be just right by themselves!

  44. Sara says:

    These are so cute!

  45. Nicisme says:

    Cute shapes, and I love lemon!

  46. Kara says:

    I love lemon, especially in the spring time. These sound heavenly!

  47. Miriam Leigh says:

    such CUTE little shapes!

  48. I think this is one of the most vital information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The website style is ideal, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  49. Peyton says:

    I just wanted to comment and say that I really enjoyed reading your blog post here. It was very informative and I also digg the way you write! Keep it up and I’ll be back to read more in the future

  50. I want assembling useful information , this post has got me even more info! .

  51. It’s in reality a great and helpful piece of information. I’m glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  52. Thanks a ton for being my own lecturer on this niche. We enjoyed the article quite definitely and most of all liked the way in which you handled the areas I regarded as controversial. You’re always rather kind towards readers much like me and let me in my everyday living. Thank you.

  53. Utterly composed written content, Really enjoyed reading through.

  54. Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  55. I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thank you again!

  56. vapor cigs says:

    I like this blog very much, Its a rattling nice office to read and get information.

  57. I have been surfing online more than three hours nowadays, yet I never found any fascinating article like yours. It’s pretty value enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the net will be a lot more helpful than ever before. “Dignity is not negotiable. Dignity is the honor of the family.” by Vartan Gregorian.

  58. David Ducay says:

    Rattling wonderful info can be found on weblog.

  59. I am not very superb with English but I come up this very easygoing to interpret.

  60. My website says:

    Just wanna remark that you have a very decent site, I like the layout it really stands out.

  61. Only wanna say that this is extremely helpful, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  62. Nikole Odien says:

    Very interesting topic, appreciate it for posting.

  63. Fantastic website. Lots of helpful info here. I’m sending it to some friends ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks to your effort!

  64. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics.

  65. click says:

    Keep up the fantastic piece of work, I read few posts on this web site and I conceive that your blog is very interesting and contains circles of fantastic info .

  66. Simply a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding layout. “Competition is a painful thing, but it produces great results.” by Jerry Flint.

  67. Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and internet and this is really irritating. A good blog with exciting content, that is what I need. Thank you for keeping this web site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

  68. I like what you guys are up too. Such intelligent work and reporting! Carry on the superb works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my site :).

  69. I got what you intend, thankyou for posting .Woh I am lucky to find this website through google. “Money is the most egalitarian force in society. It confers power on whoever holds it.” by Roger Starr.

  70. I conceive other website owners should take this web site as an model, very clean and fantastic user genial design . “When we lose one blessing, another is often, most unexpectedly, given in its place.” by Clive Staples Lewis.

  71. Jonna Estock says:

    I truly enjoy studying on this internet site , it has great articles . “When a man’s willing and eager, the gods join in.” by Aeschylus.

  72. Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your web-site is very cool. I am impressed by the details that you’ve on this website. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the info I already searched all over the place and just couldn’t come across. What an ideal web-site.

  73. Lesley Penas says:

    Just a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding design. “Justice is always violent to the party offending, for every man is innocent in his own eyes.” by Daniel Defoe.

  74. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  75. Tyson Bojko says:

    Very interesting details you have mentioned , thanks for putting up. “You can tell the ideas of a nation by it’s advertisements.” by Douglas South Wind.

  76. Thanks for sharing excellent informations. Your website is very cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this website. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the info I already searched everywhere and simply couldn’t come across. What a great website.

  77. [...] muffins 2. Gluten-Free triple coconut & almond butter soft cookies with dark chocolate chips 3. Lovely lemon shortbread cookies 4. Cranberry, pecan & oat spelt cookies If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie [...]

  78. Very well written post. It will be beneficial to anybody who utilizes it, as well as myself. Keep up the good work – looking forward to more posts.

  79. Resdources like the one you mentioned here will be very usseful to me! I will post a link to this page on my blog. I am sure my visitors will find that very useful.

  80. You made some decent factors there. I appeared on the web for the issue and found most individuals will go along with together with your website.

  81. Dia Reyolds says:

    Awsome blog! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am taking your feeds also

  82. Daysi Eayrs says:

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days..

  83. Yon Friedle says:

    Hello.This article was really interesting, particularly because I was investigating for thoughts on this matter last couple of days.

  84. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  85. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my site thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  86. I want to express my respect for your generosity supporting people that absolutely need guidance on the question. Your special dedication to passing the message up and down had been exceptionally informative and have in every case empowered guys and women like me to achieve their objectives. Your own helpful tips and hints entails a lot a person like me and still more to my peers. Best wishes; from each one of us.

  87. [...] festive speculaas cookies! 3. Sophie’s cranberry, pecans & oat spelt cookies! 4. Lovely lemony shortbread cookies! Having fun in the kitchen! Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:LikeBe the [...]

  88. Von Linegar says:

    Utterly composed content material , Really enjoyed looking through .

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 923 other followers

