Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

My marinated almond & sultana chicken

on 13/04/2009

You know by now that I like making salads, not just any salad, but a salad with a twist.

This is more of an Indian inspired salad of chicken that is marinated in a mix of olive oil, red chili, freshly cut coriander: stalks & leaves, garlic & cumin powder. Then it is put into the fridge for at least 2.5 hours. This gives the chicken a better & lovely flavour. Later on, sultanas & fresh coriander & almond flakes are added & a bit of soy sauce. This is served on a bed of Romana lettuce & fresh slices of radishes because they are in season now. MMMMMMM….
Printable Recipe
Recipe: For 2 persons
Ingredients:
* For the marinade:
2 teaspoons of cumin powder
1 fat garlic clove, peeled & finely cut up
1 fresh medium sized red chili, deseeded & finely cut up into little pieces
2 tablespoons of olive oil
1/2 bunch of fresh coriander ( cilantro ): stalks & leaves, cleaned & finely cut up
* The chicken:
290 gr of chicken fillets, no skin, cleaned & cut into little strips about 2 cm
* For the rest:
2 tablespoons of olive oil
2 tablespoons of flaked almonds
2 tablespoons of sultanas
2 tablespoons of superior light soy sauce , like the brand: Pearl River Bridge
* For the salad:
1 head of Romana lettuce, thoroughly washed, cleaned, spun dry, the leaves taken of & if wished, cut into 2
about 6 to 7 radishes, washed & cleaned, tops & bottoms cut out & sliced into rounds
Method:
1. A few hours before dinner, make your marinade. Take a medium sized Ziplog bag & place your ingredients for the marinade in it. After they are all combined, add the chicken pieces. Close the bag. With your hands, massage the meat, from the outside of the bag. So that the flavours are put together. Place the bag into a little bowl in case of leakage. Place into the fridge for at least 2 hours. You even can leave it there during the night.
2. Just before dinner, take the bag out of the fridge. Place all the rest of the ingredients, near you. Lift the chicken out of the marinade. Take a large non-stick pan & heat up on medium high.
When the pan is hot, add the chicken pieces without adding extra oil. Cook until tender & cooked trough. This will take about 5 to 8 minutes. When cooked trough, lift out of the pan & place into a bowl & combine with the flaked almonds. Keep it warm.
3. In the same pan, reduce the heat to medium, add the remaining 2 tablespoons of the olive oil & add the sultanas. Stir well. Heat trough. Turn the heat off. Add the soy sauce. Stir well. Season with 3 or 4 grinds of black pepper.
4. Add the sultana mix to the rest of the chicken & almonds. Mix well.
5. Now, you can let it cool completely & eat this as a salad for a pick-nick or eat it cold in the hot summer. I eat it medium hot as dinner or lunch.
6. Take your 2 serving plates & plate up. Place the large lettuce leaves onto the base of the 2 plates. Now, add your chicken mix to the middle of the salad, in an even horizontal line divided.
Scatter the radishes around the chicken dish, on the outside. Now, scatter the remaining coriander over the chicken!
Enjoy! This is lovely with some good , chilled on ice, Rosé wine that isn’t sweet.
My Almond & Sultana Chicken on Foodista
76 responses to “My marinated almond & sultana chicken

  1. Ben says:

    MMMMM…Sophie! This salad looks so lovely!!! I can’t wait to try it!!

  2. Susanna says:

    Sophie, this salad looks superb!! Yum! I love the flavours & the presentation!

  3. Tomas says:

    Yummy salad! I adore the flavours!

  4. Grace says:

    the marinade alone sounds great, and the things you’ve added to the salad would make a wonderful, texture- and flavor-filled meal. bravo!

  5. This sounds like a delicious flavor combination, and the mix of textures must be great! Love the crunchy radishes on top.

  6. Sophie this is a fantstic looking salad. All of the flavors are so fresh! I bet you can feel so good eathing this. I love the corriander!

  7. Pam says:

    What a terrific salad – the marinade sounds delicious.

  8. clémence says:

    ça me plaît beaucoup !

  9. Dirk says:

    This salad looks great, Sophie! Thanks!

  10. That dish looks absolutely stunning and ever so scrumptious! A delightful creation!cheers,Rosa

  11. this looks so tasty!

  12. Cheryl says:

    Sophie that salad is almost too beautiful to eat, almost :)

  13. Jenn says:

    A salad feast for the senses. Yum!!!

  14. Your marinade sounds wonderful! I like cumin a lot. Being Chinese, I am that used to eating cold salad but I don’t have many ideas of how to make a warm salad, yours give me a perfect solution. I will definitely try it.

  15. Nurit - 1fff says:

    I like that bottom photo. Looks so pretty with the radishes scattered around.

  16. Any salad with nuts and dried fruit is automatically awesome!

  17. Jenn says:

    This looks so good, I come from a long line of salad addicts. I had no idea what sultanas are but after a quick search I know they are like raisins. Thanks for sharing!

  18. Cool way to use radishs!

  19. Bunny says:

    I really like this, it’s a nice different salad, very nice!!

  20. An Indian inspired salad? That is definitely something I’ve never tried, but something that I will need to try very soon!

  21. Donna-FFW says:

    I love how this salad looks. Absolutely gorgeous colors, love the Indian flavors. Gorgeous, winner!!

  22. Kerstin says:

    Very creative – I love all those flavors and the radishes give great color!

  23. Your salad always look so delicious Sophie and this is no exception. What lovely flavours :)

  24. burpandslurp says:

    wow! Ive never imagined you could eat chicken cold like that. but it sounds SCRUMPTIOUS! all that tastes and textures…mmm~

  25. Olga says:

    The salad sounds perfect for Spring! Love radishes. My family makes a cucumber/radish/dill/sour cream salad: yum!

  26. Gorgeous salad – I love the flavors here and the radishes are such a refreshing addition!

  27. Miette says:

    This salad sounds so gorgeous! I love spring! Cheers,Miette

  28. You said cumin and coriander! We’re sold. Oh, and the rose is also in order. A glass for you too for this great meal.

  29. Carolyn says:

    This sounds great! The marinade has all my favorite things in it. And I love radishes. What a beautiful salad

  30. What a beautiful salad–and I love the Indian influence/inspiration. Yum!

  31. Hayley says:

    Your pictures are wonderful, and those radish slices are beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

  32. Koko says:

    Beautiful colours! Sounds like great flavours, too!!!

  33. Marinating the chicken with such flavors is so inspired and such a welcome change from the cream/mayonnaise-based chicken salads that I usually see. Your presentation is wonderful!

  34. Yummy to my tummy Sophie! How have you been girl?

  35. Ben says:

    I can’t stand boring salads. I think a lot of people don’t like them because there is no excitement to them. But this one, my friend, oh wow, this is what I am talking about! Salads have to be exciting and delicious. Great job :)

  36. Jamie says:

    This sounds fabulous! I love these flavors and this dish looks wonderful.

  37. Judy says:

    Beautiful photos. I love the flavors and ingredients in this dish. Radishes are a fave of mine. BTW, I just added you to my blogroll.

  38. Lynda says:

    Oh my, this looks so beautiful and so delicious! This is a great recipe post!

  39. Jan says:

    That salad looks spectacular, wonderful flavors going on here. Great job, Sophie.

  40. JackieT says:

    Beautiful colors and flovors. I’m definitely going to tr this at home.

  41. Jeanne says:

    Oh, that looks so pretty! I love all the radishes scattered around…

  42. Yum, now here is something that i can actually eat! Looks great, I love chicken salads.

  43. Chef Chuck says:

    Wow, That looks and sounds delish!!

  44. Miriam Leigh says:

    What gorgeous colors! Mouth-watering!!!

  45. Wow! Thank you! I permanently needed to write on my blog something like that. Can I include a fragment of your post to my website?

  46. Regards for helping out, great info. “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” by J. K. Rowling.

  47. Hello There. I discovered your blog the use of msn. That is an extremely neatly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your helpful information. Thank you for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  48. I like this web blog very much so much good info.

  49. I like this post, enjoyed this one regards for putting up.

  50. I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were very useful very beneficial

  51. Blumenversand Vergleich says:

    Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  52. Just wanna remark that you have a very nice internet site , I like the layout it really stands out.

  53. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thx again!

  54. Info here says:

    I consider something really interesting about your web blog so I bookmarked .

  55. Jewell Young says:

    I think this internet site has very excellent pent content content.

  56. Very good info – thanks!

  57. shopin says:

    Great post. Thank you.

  58. Merely a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw great pattern. “Competition is a painful thing, but it produces great results.” by Jerry Flint.

  59. Absolutely written content, Really enjoyed studying.

  60. Thanks for the article, is there any way I can receive an email sent to me when you make a fresh update?

  61. You are my inspiration, I possess few blogs and sometimes run out from brand :). “He who controls the past commands the future. He who commands the future conquers the past.” by George Orwell.

  62. [...] summer salad with roasted plums, sheep’s feta, pine nuts, prosciutto & a plum dressing 2. My marinated almond & sultana chicken salad Sophie’s Smoked Salmon & Vegetables Salad With A Mustard – Honey [...]

  63. You have remarked very interesting points! ps nice site.

  64. Summer Slate says:

    A person essentially help to make severely posts I would state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I surprised with the analysis you made to create this actual submit extraordinary. Fantastic process!

  65. Regards for helping out, superb info .

  66. Awesome writing style!

  67. Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

  68. Elda Chapa says:

    Awesome writing style!

  69. Links says:

    Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

  70. bookmarking says:

    dNf56D I really liked your blog.Much thanks again.

  71. Definitely, what a great site and educative posts, I surely will bookmark your site.Best Regards!

  72. Keep working ,terrific job!

  73. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful information specifically the last part :) I care for such information much. I was looking for this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  74. Hello.This post was really interesting, particularly since I was browsing for thoughts on this topic last Sunday.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,126 other followers

