Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Quiche Lorraine à la Sophie!

on 04/04/2009

I just love-making this Quiche Lorraine! It is easy because I don’t make the crust. I use bought short crust pastry. I by pastry made with margarine so that the pastry isn’t too heavy.
Also, I use 4 omega 3 eggs & alpro soy cream. That makes the Quiche lighter then other quiches! I serve it with a mixed side salad & sliced Kumato tomatoes with chopped chives. On top of that, I drizzle some of my lovely dressing over the top! It is a mix of Balsamic vinegar, olive oil, mustard , honey, black pepper & some Maldon sea salt. It is brown in colour but it is so yummy !!
Printable Recipe
Recipe: For 6 persons, 1 large piece
Ingredients:
1 sheet of prerolled bought short crust pastry with margarine
5 medium-sized leeks, white parts & a bit of the green parts, cut into 2 horizontally & thoroughly washed & dried on kitchen paper
1 brick of soy light cream, this is 250 ml
200 gr of smoked bacon, cut into little pieces
4 omega 3 eggs
175 gr of Gruyère cheese, grated, equally divided into 2 parts
a bit of liquid baking margarine
black pepper
Maldon sea salt
* the salad to serve it with:
4 Kumato tomatoes, cleaned, cut horizontally in slices
5 to 10 sprigs of chives, cleaned & cut up into little pieces
1/2 cucumber, cleaned & cut up into slices
a mixed salad of young salad leaves
* the dressing:
Take a jam pot. Put the ingredients for the dressing in the jam pot. This is: 5 tablespoons of olive oil, a neutral one. Add 1 heaped tablespoon of Dijon mustard. Add 2 tablespoons of your best Balsamic vinegar. Add 1 tablespoon of liquid honey. Add a few grinds of black pepper & some Maldon sea salt to taste. Put the lid onto the jam pot. Shake your dressing up & down! Shake it until the ingredients are well combined. Taste again. It should taste divine!! It is now brown in colour.
Method:
1. Take your prerolled pastry out of the fridge & out of the package.
Roll it all out. Take your pie dish. Line with baking paper. Place the pastry into the pie dish. Use a fork & prick the base on several places. Place baking paper onto the pastry. Fill with uncooked beans, rice or ceramic beans & place into an oven. Bake the pastry blind for about 15 minutes on 140° C. The pastry has to be crunchy. I added a few minutes extra. Take it out of the oven. Take away the baking paper with the beans in it. Let it cool off . I prepared this an hour before putting the filling in it.
2. Take your cleaned leeks & cut up into little pieces. Take a large cooking pot & add some baking margarine. Heat up on medium high. When hot & sizzling, add the cut up leeks & fry until soft & tender. This took about 8 to 10 minutes. In the beginning, I added a bit of hot water & put the lid on so that the leeks were almost steamed. Then, I take the lid off. When they are ready, the water will be evaporated. I added some grinds of black pepper & just a bit of crushed sea salt. I didn’t add too much salt because the bacon is already salted!
When done, put aside with the lid on. Turn the heat off.
3. At the same time, heat a large non stick pan on a high heat. Add a bit of baking margarine & heat up. When hot, add the smoked bacon pieces. Fry until crisped up & ready. Turn the heat of. Drain on a plate with 2 layers of kitchen paper. Then, drain again with a layer of kitchen paper.
Set aside.
4. When you are preparing to have dinner, start preparing the filling. Take a large bowl & break the eggs 1 for 1 into the bowl. Then, loosen the eggs with a fork. So, that the white parts & the egg yolks are well combined. Now, add the soy cream. Mix well. Now, add 1/2 of the grated Gruyère cheese. Mix well with the fork or with a spoon.
5. Take another large bowl & place the bacon pieces together with the leeks. Mix well. Now add the other part of the grated Gruyère cheese. Mix well.
6. Take a large baking tray out of the oven. Preheat the oven to 200°C. for about 10 minutes.
7. Now add the 2 bowls together & mix well. This is all the filling joined together. Some times , I add a few grinds of black pepper. It has to taste fabulous!!
8. Now, place the filled quiche onto the baking try. Place into the center of the oven & bake for about 35 to 45 minutes until a skewer inserted into the middle, comes out clean.
9. The first 10 minutes, the oven temperature will be 200°C. After 10 minutes, cut the temperature to 170 °C. After 15 minutes in total, I open the oven door, & I turn the Quiche because the crust can so be evenly browned on all sides.
10. When ready, a bit brown on top, ready & set, take it out of the oven. Let it cool down a bit. Take it out of the pie dish. Place onto a serving plate & cut into 2 pieces.
Take your dressing out of the fridge & shake the jampot up & down to let the ingredients mingle together. Take your salad, tomatoes & cucumber slices & place on the plate. Beside it, place a large piece of the Quiche. Drizzle some of the dressing over it & enjoy!!
This is lovely enjoyed with a glass of white wine, like the Spanish wine: Rias Baixas, Miudiño, Albariño 2008.
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Ricotta & tomato Quiche
2. My husband’s Quiche with bacon, mushrooms, red onions, & cream, served with a mixed salad, Kumato chili tomatoes & home-made cocktail sauce
Quiche Lorraine à La Sophie on Foodista
51 responses to “Quiche Lorraine à la Sophie!

  1. Your quiche lorraine looks fabulous!

  2. Manon says:

    This quiche looks great, Sophie!!! yum yum for the salad + dressing too!!

  3. I love quiche lorraine too! Your recipe sounds excellent! Yum!

  4. Daily Spud says:

    A classic, Sophie!

  5. You quiche and salad sound fantastic! Eggs are so good with gruyere.

  6. oooh, leeks in quiche looks so good! I always just use onion.

  7. Pam says:

    I haven’t had a slice of quiche for much too long – it looks great.

  8. Kerstin says:

    Looks amazing Sophie! I love how you lightened it up too!

  9. Reeni♥ says:

    This looks delicious, Sophie! Especially with that yummy dressing. I’m sad because I’m not getting any of your updates. I’m not sure if it’s just me or all of your followers but I thought I would let you know.

  10. Tomas says:

    This quiche looks stunning, Sophie! i love the salad & dressing too: it is all so yum yum yum!!!

  11. Carolyn says:

    This looks so good. Quiche Lorraine is one of my favorites, but especially with leeks. And you picked a great wine to go with it. I think Albarino is one of those wines that is not well known, but is so good, expecially as the warm weather approaches.

  12. Dawn says:

    oh yes indeed I love quiche lorraine too.wine is perfect with it. although I love it with icy cold prosecco.

  13. I love quiche Lorraine! Yours looks so scrumptious! nice salad too! YummyCheers,Rosa

  14. This looks wonderful. My dad’s gotten into quiche lately – no idea where that came from – and I’d bet he’d really like this.

  15. cindy* says:

    yum! this sounds like a perfect meal, i love quiche in pretty much any form and your dressing sounds fantastic.

  16. April says:

    I love quiche, it’s perfect for a simple lunch with a salad. and gruyere is amazing!

  17. That is just gorgeous and I feel that anything with bacon in it has got to be good!

  18. Sapuche says:

    This looks great, Sophie! I like how you’ve simplified the recipe and made it “a la Sophie” with your creativity!

  19. Cheryl says:

    I have never made Quiche Lorraine before, it looks amazing!

  20. I love Quiche Lorraine, not only because of the name! ;) That looks amazing Sophie and I hope you are feeling better! xxx

  21. Diana H says:

    Your quiche sounds delicious, like it would have a smoky flavor, is that right?

  22. Hermana says:

    MMMMM…Sophie! This quiche & salad & dressing look delicious!! I like it because you choose omega 3 eggs which makes the quiche much lighter & soy cream! I want a piece right now , for breakfast! Thanks!!

  23. Quiche is one of my daughter’s favorite foods. When she was little, her dream day was to go to Michel Richard’s for quiche and a pastry. Now, I buy baby quiche hors d’oeuvres from Costco for her school lunches. Your recipe looks great–we will give it a try, and I love the salad dressing!

  24. clémence says:

    avec les poireaux en plus : j’adore !

  25. Dirk says:

    This quiche looks absolutely lovely, Sophie! I adore the dressing & salad!! Thanks again!!

  26. Ali says:

    Sophie this looks fabulous! I love the height of your quiche. It’s perfect! and your salad dressing sounds lovely. alexandra’s kitchen

  27. Making crust really isn’t as much work as people think. Looks delicious but I think you’ll love it even more with your own freshly made crust. =)

  28. Grace says:

    cheese, bacon, and eggs–my breakfast staples. :)great quiche, sophie!

  29. Nurit - 1fff says:

    Ooooo, I love Quiche Lorraine!

  30. Like everyone here, I love quiche! Your presentation here looks like a healthy yet satisfyingly delicous meal!

  31. Lo says:

    What a delicious looking quiche. Quality ingredients really make everything better, don’t they?I’ll admit to buying premade crusts quite often; they definitely cut down on prep time. But, I’m with Jessica — homemade crust is worth it, if you can spare a few extra moments :)

  32. Selba says:

    Wow… quiche! I haven’t eaten it for a long time!

  33. Maris says:

    Mmm quiche is so delicious! Perfect for a lazy morning brunch!

  34. Momgateway says:

    Never tried making quiche…you inspire me

  35. Sophie says:

    @ everyone: Thanks for those lovely comments & for passing by!! I used omga 3 eggs because they are more healthy & contain no cholesterol! They contain more eggwhite & less egg yolk! I use soy cream because I like it's taste & it lightens up the dish.

  36. Jan says:

    I love leeks, but have never used them in a quiche. I can’t think why, this sounds fabulous.

  37. gaga says:

    Yum, I haven’t a quiche in ages. Looks yummy!

  38. Danielle says:

    Oh Sophie! You are a little devil! Sounds wonderfuul!

  39. I just love quiche. Thanks for this great recipe.Sam

  40. Peter M says:

    Sophie, nicely done…a wonderful classic for brunch/lunch.

  41. Kevin says:

    That quiche looks good!

  42. Charlotte says:

    I wish more people would write blogs like this that are really fun to read. With all the fluff floating around on the net, it is rare to read a blog like this instead.

  43. Someone necessarily help to make significantly posts I would state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I amazed with the research you made to make this particular put up incredible. Magnificent process!

  44. Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  45. Good work:) Thanks for this article

  46. I enjoy you because of all your valuable work on this website. Kim really likes going through internet research and it is simple to grasp why. A lot of people know all concerning the powerful manner you present sensible secrets via this web site and even improve response from website visitors on that concept then our princess is actually becoming educated so much. Enjoy the rest of the new year. You are always conducting a glorious job.

  47. Very good info – thanks!

  48. Slub says:

    Thanks for pretty impressive post. I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  49. Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  50. [...] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Quiche lorraine à la Sophie 2. Ricotta & tomato quiche Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:LikeBe [...]

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,088 other followers

