Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Linguine with smoked salmon, leeks, mushrooms & cream

on 23/03/2009

 

A lovely & yummy smoked salmon, leeks, mushrooms & pasta dish!

I just love pasta! Don’t you?
Because it is spring, I had to use leeks because they are in season.
What to go with it? I thought smoked salmon & brown mushrooms. I do not eat cream so I used soy cream. It makes the dish a lot lighter. This dish is a recipe from my mother. She has had a lot of success with it!! It screams: yum!!
Printable Recipe
Recipe: For 4 persons
Ingredients:
4 stalks of leeks, not too thick otherwise the taste is less intensive, cleaned & cut up into little pieces
250 gr of brown field mushrooms, cleaned & cut up in slices
250 gr of Parisian mushrooms ( these are little white mushrooms ) cleaned & cut up in slices You can use whatever mushroom you want but you want to have 500 gr in total. I do not use the more special mushrooms otherwise they overpower the dish!
Linguini : at least 100 gr per person / So: at least 400 gr of Linguini
Fresh chives, cleaned, cut up in little pieces: about 1 handful
3 or 4 whole long cleaned pieces of chives, for the presentation, per person / So: 12 to 16 pieces in total
smoked salmon : about 210 gr in total
You use 4 slices of smoked salmon, cut up in little pieces, to use in the sauce.
You use 2 slices of smoked salmon , cut into long pieces for the presentation.
Fish stock: 500 ml to 1 litre depending on how much pasta you use
soy cream or cream if you want: 375 ml
sea salt: grinned
Black pepper: a few grinds
10 minutes before serving, preheat 2 serving plates
Method:
1. Take a large cooking pot & fry the chopped up leeks in margarine or butter on a medium high heat for about 5 to 10 minutes. Add a few grinds of black pepper & a bit of sea salt. Not too much salt because the smoked salmon is already salty. Stir often.
2. Add the sliced up mushrooms to the same pot. Put up the heat a bit. Add a bit of baking margarine or butter, if necessary. Don’t let the water from the mushrooms evaporate too much!
I added a bit of black pepper but no salt. When the mushrooms are nearly ready, add the cream or add the soy cream. Stir often.
3. In the meantime, take a large cooking pot & fill with the fish stock. Bring to the boil. When boiling, add the linguine & a bit of olive oil. Cook al dente. Drain & keep a bit of the cooking water. Add it to the hot pasta. Keep warm.
4. In the cooking pot where the mushrooms are, the cream was added, simmer for a few minutes until the sauce thickens. Season to taste. Just when the sauce has thickened & you want to serve, 2 minutes before serving, add the 4 cut up slices of salmon to the sauce. Stir well. Taste again. The sauce has to taste fab!
5. Take your preheated serving plates & plate up!
* Place your linguine onto your plate
* Place the sauce on top
* Place 2 or 3 thin slices of the remaining salmon on top, crosswise or straight, according to your inspiration!
* Add the last 3 or 4 sprigs of chives on top of the salmon!
That’s it!
Enjoy with a good glass of white wine like Pfalz Pinot Blanc 2007
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Smoked salmon & ricotta wraps
2. Sophie’s smoked salmon & vegetables salad with a honey & mustard dressing
3. Scottish oak smoked salmon appetizers with wasabi & fresh dill, filed under Sophie’s Christmas menu
72 responses to “Linguine with smoked salmon, leeks, mushrooms & cream

  1. Yum – that pasta sounds awesome! I’ve recently also made pasta with smoked salmon and cream sauce and a great idea to add leeks and mushrooms too!

  2. Tomas says:

    This dish looks superb, Sophie!!! MMMMM….

  3. Hermana says:

    MMMMMM….Sophie!! This looks so delicious!! Thanks for sharing!!

  4. I adore smoked salmon, so I will be using your smoked salmon wraps recipe and linguine recipe in the near future. Thank you Sophie!

  5. Anonymous says:

    MMMM…Yummie:)!!!!

  6. Cheryl says:

    Sophie, that pasta looks delish! and I love that you used soy cream!

  7. Perfect! I love every part of this dish!

  8. A scrumptious pasta dish! I love that flavor combo!Cheers,Rosa

  9. Dawn says:

    yes I love a good spring-pasta dish. perfect sauce here for veggies and you added some salmon, good thinking!

  10. I love this recent theme of smoked salmon. It’s one of my favourite foods and good to know that it works with soy cream too! Thanks Sophie! :)

  11. This dish screams yum in at least 5 languages!

  12. cindy* says:

    delicious! some of my favorites things in one dish.

  13. Diana H says:

    Smoked salmon, linguine, and leeks – I love all of those.

  14. Gail says:

    I too love pasta and this looks very good! Eet smakelijk!

  15. Danielle says:

    Sophie, Sophie, Sophie…what a wonderful recipe! I am saving this one. How nice it will be to a recipe that was your mothers. That makes it extra special. Thank you so much for sharing it.

  16. Carolyn says:

    Mmmm, Sophie,you’re on a salmon kick, eh? Sounds really good. I love leeks too. I’m going to make some pasta this week. This would probably be great with fresh pasta. I admit, though, I’m going to splurge on the real cream!

  17. Kerstin says:

    My hubby only drinks soy milk, but I didn’t even know there was such a thing as soy cream. I’m going to have to look for it! Lovely dish!

  18. I just made pasta with smoked salmon, but didn’t include the leeks (great idea, and I will do next time). As far as I’m concerned, just about anything with smoked salmon works. Last week, I roasted some asparagus and wrapped bundles of three or four with smoked salmon.

  19. clémence says:

    A chaque fois que je viens sur ton blog, je salive. Ce plat de pâtes est parfait pour moi !

  20. Maggie says:

    This sounds like a wonderful combination!

  21. Sophie, this is terrific. You did a great job of lightening up a rich dish. It’s fun for me to dream of finding little Parisian brown mushrooms in the market. What a lucky person you are. Have you ever made gravlax? We’ve tried it several times but still keep coming back to the purchased smoked salmon.Sam

  22. Cookiemouse says:

    In the native American calendar Cookiemouse is a salmon!

  23. This looks great. My husband especially would be really into this – he loves smoked salmon.

  24. Olga says:

    What a great combo!!! Love everything in this recipe.

  25. Rebekka says:

    Ok, that looks like a PERFECT dish to me. I just made salmon and leek pot pie and now I’m craving THIS! Beautiful.

  26. I love pasta with smoked salon! What great flavors you have going on in this dish. Such a creamy, comforting and cozy meal!

  27. nick says:

    “It screams: yum yum!!”– Yes, yes it does.Did you use hot smoked salmon or cold smoke (lox)? I think both would be good in this but either would certainly affect the overall taste/texture.

  28. Perfect for spring!

  29. Oh how I love the combination of the salmon and the leaks. I like everything in this meal and it looks so beautiful too!

  30. Daily Spud says:

    Creamy, mushroomy, leeky – all good things in my book!

  31. I love pasta with salmon in a cream (or cream like!) sauce. My favorite Italian restaurant serves something similar, and I never have any leftovers when I order it!

  32. Talita says:

    Great! This linguine is mouth watering! Even more with salmon!

  33. Sylvia says:

    What a wonderful and flavor combination , Sophie !!! Love it

  34. Elra says:

    Wow, what a scrumptious sounding pasta dish Sophie. I love the smoke salmon there.Cheers,elra

  35. Sapuche says:

    That is one fantastic looking pasta dish! I’m a sucker for anything with salmon in it, and the addition of mushrooms, leeks, and cream sounds delicious. Thanks for sharing!

  36. Jamie says:

    Gorgeous! It looks so delicious!

  37. A creamy sauce with salmon, leeks and mushroom? Heavenly!

  38. Jan says:

    I adore leeks, and this dish sounds super. Great job, Sophie.

  39. Koko says:

    Ohhh my, I could go for this dish right now!!!! Yum!

  40. Peter M says:

    Sophie, I’ve had a dish similar to this with smoked salmon and it’s a delight…very rich but so delicious.

  41. Sophie says:

    @ everyone: Thanks for commenting!! Love it!!@ Nick: I used cold smoked salmon & heated it up a bit. Thanks for the comment!

  42. Danielle says:

    Sophie! What an amazing combination of flavors you have here. Please see my post that I did today for Double-Ginger Bundt Cake. I accept your frienship award with open arms and thank you. I’ve been rather pre-occupied lately so I apologize for the delay.

  43. You made some nice points there. I did a search on the subject matter and found the majority of people will consent with your blog.

  44. Rachel says:

    With all the doggone snow we have gotten recently I am stuck indoors, fortunately there is the internet, thanks for giving me something to do. :)

  45. Mariah says:

    This was novel. I wish I could read every post, but i have to go back to work now… But I’ll return.

  46. I found your blog web site on google and test a couple of of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the superb operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Searching for forward to reading extra from you later on!…

  47. Regards for helping out, good info .

  48. I like this web site so much, saved to favorites. “I don’t care what is written about me so long as it isn’t true.” by Dorothy Parker.

  49. Wohh exactly what I was looking for, appreciate it for posting.

  50. I like the helpful information you supply in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at once more here regularly. I am relatively sure I’ll be told many new stuff right right here! Good luck for the following!

  51. I was reading some of your posts on this website and I think this website is real informative! Continue putting up.

  52. I enjoy the efforts you have put in this, regards for all the great posts.

  53. I am not rattling wonderful with English but I find this very easy to understand.

  54. But wanna admit that this is invaluable , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  55. Tyson Ijames says:

    hi!,I love your writing so a lot! proportion we keep in touch more approximately your article on AOL? I require an expert on this area to solve my problem. Maybe that is you! Looking ahead to look you.

  56. Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting info. “Knowledge cultivates your seeds and does not sow in you seeds.” by Kahlil Gibran.

  57. Some genuinely fantastic articles on this website , appreciate it for contribution.

  58. I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were very helpful handy

  59. read more at says:

    I view something really special in this internet site.

  60. Merely wanna say that this is very helpful , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  61. Thank you for this post. I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  62. As soon as I detected this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  63. Regards for helping out, good info. “Courage comes and goes. Hold on for the next supply.” by Vicki Baum.

  64. Enjoyed looking at this, very good stuff, regards . “The fox knows many things, but the hedgehog knows one big thing.” by Archilocus.

  65. Max says:

    Some genuinely excellent posts on this website , appreciate it for contribution.

  66. [...] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS – Posts   You might like: 1. Linguini with smoked salmon, leeks, mushrooms & cream       Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

  67. Keep up the good work, I read few content on this site and I conceive that your web site is rattling interesting and holds circles of great information.

  68. Thanks for helping out, great information.

  69. Sensual Jane says:

    You can definitely see your expertise within the work you write. The arena hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times go after your heart. “There are only two industries that refer to their customers as users.” by Edward Tufte.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 931 other followers

