Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Cardamom risotto brûlée

on 11/03/2009
A delightful & festive dessert!

A festive cardamom risotto brûlée

I just love deserts with cardamom in it.You have black & green cardamom pods.

Cardamoms are the seed pods from a tall shrub native to India & Sri Lanka.
To make sure, the pods stay whole, they are picked by hand which is why cardamoms are almost as expensive as saffron!
Green Cardamom pods should be fat & green. It is best to buy whole cardamom pods. You can slice the pods open in 2 & use the seeds. I put them in a pestle & mortar to crush them finely & then use it in deserts.
Each cardamom pod includes little, dark brown or black & sticky seeds. The stickiness is the hardest evidence of its freshness!!!
In India, cardamom has been used for over more than 2000 years!!
Cardamom pods keep well for a year in an airtight pot. But its taste & colour will deteriorate in time.
Cardamom is used in Indian desserts like Kulfi, in tea, desserts, cakes, cookies, etc.
It is also used in food like in Korma’s, massala’s, curry powders,etc.
I buy them in 50 gr plastic bags in the Indian food shop.
Printable Recipe
Recipe: for 3 persons
Ingredients:
5 green cardamom pods
25 gr of butter
100 gr of Risotto rice / I used Arborio rice
25 gr of castor sugar
600 ml of semi – skimmed milk
ed milk
43 gr of sultanas
* For the brûlée topping: 50 gr of castor sugar / The finer the sugar, the better the topping will caramelise.
Method:
1. On a chopping board, split the 5 green Cardamom pods open in 2. Remove the husks & place the seeds in a pestle & mortar. Crush them finely into a powder. You will smell a lovely aroma!!
2. Take a medium cooking pot & heat up on medium. Place the butter into the pot & let it melt.
3. When melted & sizzling hot, add the crushed cardamom powder, fry for a few seconds & stir frequently.
4. Now, add the arborio rice & the sugar. Stir well. Fry for a few seconds more & than pour in the milk: all of it!!
5. Now, bring to the boil. Now, simmer for 15 minutes, stirring frequently because you do not want a skin to form onto the milk mixture!!!You will see that the mix will begin to thicken!!
6. After those 15 minutes, add the sultanas. Stir well & often. Fry for another 10 minutes. By then the risotto will me moist, the risotto will be creamy & the rice will be cooked. If not, fry & stir for another 5 minutes or so. Turn the heat off.
7. Spoon into little ramekins. In my case, I could fill 3,5 ramekins of 100 ml. Put cling film on top of each.
8. I put mine the fridge to use later.
Keep in mind when you put them in the fridge to eat them later, that the risotto will stif up. So, when the risotto is moist & ready, off the heat, add a bit of milk to the pot & stir well. Then spoon the risotto into the ramekins. Use oven ramekins.
9. When you are ready to eat them, take out of the fridge.
10. Take your castor sugar. Divide evenly over the ramekins.
11. Take your Crème brûlée Brander. Grill the sugar. Grill until evenly browned & until it has formed a thick brown & golden sugar layer.
If you do not have that, put it under the grill for a few minutes until the sugar has caramelised. Cool a little before serving.
Enjoy!!! The risotto is creamy & so lovely!!! The cardamom is subtile & yummy!!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Mixed mushroom & dried porcini risotto
2.Beetrrot risooto with Parmesan & ricotta
3. Nigella’s chcolate rice risotto
4. Oven spring vegetables oven baked risotto
Cardamom Risotto Brûlée on Foodista
92 responses to “Cardamom risotto brûlée

  1. Manon says:

    This looks so yummie:), Sophie!!! I love the flavours!!!

  2. I love everything with cardamom in it! This sounds delicious! Love you picture!

  3. Danielle says:

    Wow Sophie!What a great recipe! Really fabulous!You are an inspiration!

  4. Sounds like a delicious rice pudding! It must smell fantastic as it cooks.

  5. I love cardamom. I love just sticking my nose in my spice jar and inhaling the scent… Actually, I had a massage yesterday with cardamom essential oils, and I smelled like it all day!!!

  6. Reeni says:

    This looks so delicious Sophie! I wish I could dive into it! Yummy!

  7. zerrin says:

    Sophie that looks like just for my taste. I’d like to try it, I love such scents in desserts and drinks. But I think I can’t find cardamom here in Turkey.

  8. Pam says:

    Wow – this looks absolutely incredible Sophie! A must try recipe.

  9. Carolyn says:

    Oooh, I just bought cardamom this weekend! I could make this. I should make this. It sounds incredible.

  10. duodishes says:

    Very unique dish. Nice recipe! Cardamom is sooooo good.

  11. I love the idea of bruleeing this! cardamom is one of my favorite too.

  12. Olga says:

    Have you always liked cardamom? Or is it an acquired taste? I don’t think I’ve acquired it yet :)

  13. Selba says:

    I love the smell of cardamom! :)

  14. a wonderful recipe! Really yummy looking!Cheers,Rosa

  15. Tomas says:

    MMMMM….Sophie! What an inspiration are you for us!!! This dessert looks so yummie:)!!!!

  16. Miette says:

    Very nice recipe ! You’re so creative ! Very well done !Cheers,Miette

  17. Hermana says:

    MMMMMMM….Sophie!! this dessert looks so lovely & so yummy :)!!!

  18. Emily says:

    Oooh, risotto brulee. How brilliant. Cardamom is a wonderful spice to use in dessert, I’m with you on that one. Not used enough, I think.

  19. Anonymous says:

    MMMMM….this risotto dessert looks divine, Sophie!!

  20. MsGourmet says:

    I love anything with cardamom in it sweet or savoury! This looks delicious Sophie :)

  21. cindy* says:

    yum, i love the idea of a brulleed top! so yummy!

  22. I love cardamom too, but it’s so pricey here. Your risott brulee is amazing. I’m drooling on my keyboard!

  23. This is a really creative and interesting dish! I’m not usually a fan of rice puddings, but the brulee topping is a brilliant idea. And, of course, I adore cardamom.

  24. What a lovely, lovely dessert. I assume you merged two photos together to show us the difference between caramelizing and not caramelizing? I’m wondering how you did that! It’s intriguing.

  25. Jason says:

    I also love cardamom, just the smell is amazing! This looks like a lovely recipe!

  26. glamah16 says:

    A nice twist on rice pudding. Cardamon has to be my favorite spice.

  27. Daily Spud says:

    I love cardamom, though, for some reason, I have never been able to get into desserts involving rice. I keep thinking I should try again. Some day I will!

  28. I love cardamom too! This dessert looks wonderful! I love the brulee topping! Very delicious!

  29. Y says:

    Bruleed rice pudding! yum!

  30. Gorgeous indeed Sophie! Cardamom is a beautifully fragrant spice I agree and that looks delicious :)

  31. I love the “brulee” twist you added to rice pudding. I only think of “brulee” with custards, but you have just expanded my horizons! Also, I just gave you an award, so please pick it up!

  32. I think you have to pass the award to 5 people, but you can pass it to as many people as you’d like!

  33. Nicisme says:

    I am a rice pud lover, especially like the way you torched the top. Mmmmm…

  34. Trish says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. I too am a cardamon fan. My rather bland food experiences when young changed when I met my husband from East Africa. Now….I cook in a myriad of spice mixtures. Fresh Fresh Fresh…yep..you are right about the cardamon. And I use the black cardamon for boiling for chai…I like that husky smokey flavour the black variety gives to tea.Take care…happy weekend.

  35. Peter M says:

    Sophie, I like the before & after shot…yum too!Next time make the recipe for 4, I'll have the last portion.

  36. alexandra says:

    very interesting. my husband’s mother has a wonderful recipe for an enriched bread flavored with cardamom — it’s such a nice taste!

  37. Sara says:

    I love cardamom, it’s one of my favorite spices! I love that you bruleed the top too.

  38. Have a great weekend!cheers,Rosa

  39. Kerstin says:

    Oh – I love cardamom too! I’m very impressed you grind it yourself. Your dessert looks lovely!

  40. Sophie says:

    Very yummy-it sounds like a dessert for the senses, cardamom is deliciously fragrant!

  41. Dirk says:

    Wow, Sophie!!!! You have done it again!!! This before & after shot looks beautiful & so yummie :)!!!!

  42. Lore says:

    Brilliant idea, it looks so very creamy! Cardamom is my new love, great for desserts :).

  43. Diana H says:

    I learn something new from you. Not just about cardamon, which I have heard of, but I wasn’t sure what sultanas were. Raisins – This looks good, thanks.

  44. Kristina says:

    Wow, I’ve never tried crushing cardamon pods by hand. I definitely need to give this a shot. Thanks!

  45. Sapuche says:

    This looks so good! I use cardamom sometimes when I make a puffed pancake, but that’s a “lesser” use for it than the dish you’ve presented here. I’ll have to try it!

  46. Maggie says:

    This looks like a divine spin on rice pudding.

  47. Kevin says:

    I have been enjoying cardamom lately. I really like the idea of a risotto brulee!. Nice before and after photo!

  48. Muneeba says:

    Sophie … the things you do with risotto (especially when you desert-ify them) are pure evil. I’m salivating. This cardamom risotto brulee (I love all three words) is similar to a kheer (indian/pakistani rice pudding) that I make … lots of cardamom in it .. but like Kevin said in the comment before mine .. bruleeing it is a really neat idea.Oh one more thing; can you pls tell me how you added the “printable recipe” feature to your blog? I’ve been thinking about adding it to mine, but can’t figure out how.

  49. Your brulee looks just delicious! I can almost smell that lovely cardamom right now. What a creative idea!

  50. Foodess says:

    Looks fabulous! I love brulee’d desserts, beyond creme brulee. And I LOVE rice pudding! Great combo!

  51. I love cardamon, I have never seen green, only black. Honestly it is not used here much, and so I am never quite sure when useing it if I crush the pod and throw it in whole or what (which is what I do), and advice you have on useing this I will take because I adore the flavor… as my mom would say, it is the Finn in me!!

  52. Marie says:

    This dessert was superb!! I had it for dessert at our dinner party & it was a real hit!!!

  53. Great twist on the dessert. I also like the clever idea of bringing the cardamom in. Sounds delicious…

  54. Susanna says:

    MMMMMM…Sophie! What a lovely & delicious dessert! I like that you have used a brulée topping! Yum yum yum !!!!I adore cardamom!!

  55. Mae Mangen says:

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I’m quite certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  56. Andrea says:

    Howdy blogger, thank you for providing this article.. I found it first-class.

  57. Great write-up, I am normal visitor of one’s web site, maintain up the nice operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time.

  58. Diego Tyger says:

    Some truly wonderful info , Sword lily I found this. “They are able because they think they are able.” by Virgil.

  59. Good day, just changed into alert to your post thru Bing, and located that it’s really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful in the event you proceed this in future. A lot of other people can be benefited from your writing. TQ

  60. You are my aspiration, I own few blogs and infrequently run out from post :). “He who controls the past commands the future. He who commands the future conquers the past.” by George Orwell.

  61. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  62. I believe this internet site has got some very great info for everyone. “The expert at anything was once a beginner.” by Hayes.

  63. mulch says:

    Hi my family member! I want to say that this post is awesome, nice written and come with approximately all important infos. I would like to look more posts like this.

  64. Some really superb information, Sword lily I observed this. “Genius is one of the many forms of insanity.” by Cesare Lombroso.

  65. I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thanks again!

  66. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thx again!

  67. I like this blog it’s a master piece! Glad I detected this on google.

  68. You have noted very interesting points! ps nice website.

  69. Dead composed subject matter, regards for information. “The bravest thing you can do when you are not brave is to profess courage and act accordingly.” by Corra Harris.

  70. My site says:

    Normally I don’t learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, quite nice article.

  71. Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  72. Carmine Gill says:

    You are my inspiration , I own few blogs and infrequently run out from to post .

  73. read more says:

    Thank you for helping out, wonderful info. “Riches cover a multitude of woes.” by Menander.

  74. Theda says:

    I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for putting up.

  75. I enjoy your writing style really enjoying this internet site. “Man is sometimes extraordinarily, passionately, in love with suffering.” by Feodor Mikhailovich Dostoyevsky.

  76. fantastic issues altogether, you just won a new reader. What would you suggest about your submit that you just made some days in the past? Any certain?

  77. you’re truly a excellent webmaster. The website loading pace is incredible. It kind of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a fantastic job on this topic!

  78. I think this is one of the most significant info for me. And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  79. Some truly prize content on this internet site , bookmarked .

  80. Max says:

    Regards for helping out, fantastic information.

  81. Melani Rompf says:

    Some really choice blog posts on this site, saved to bookmarks .

  82. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  83. [...] like: 1. Nigella’s chocolate rice pudding 2. Beetroot risotto with ricotta & Parmesan 3. Cardamom risotto brûlée 4. Oven baked vegetable risotto Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); [...]

  84. Laureen says:

    Of course, what a splendid website and instructive posts, I will bookmark your blog.Have an awsome day!

  85. [...] is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Beetroot risotto with Parmesan cheese & ricotta 2. Cardamom risotto brûlée 3. Mixed mushrooms & dried porcini risotto 4. Oven baked vegetables risotto Advertisement [...]

  86. [...] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Cardamom risotto brûlée 2. Nigella’s chocolate rice pudding 3. Beetroot risotto with ricotta & parmesan 4. Mixed [...]

  87. I lovve blogging and i can say that you alo love bloggink.

  88. [...] 3. Ras El Hanout roasted carrots, red onions & beets 4. Nigella’s chocolate rice pudding 5. Cardamom risotto brûlée 6. Oven baked vegetable risotto 7. Beetroot wedges with a balsamic & orange marmalade sauce 8. [...]

  89. Fig & Quince says:

    mmmmm would love to try this!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,125 other followers

