Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Grilled Halloumi salad with herby chickpeas

on 27/02/2009

 

It was a long time ago that I had grilled halloumi.

I just love this white, salty cheese. It originates from Cyprus. Originally, it is made from a mixture of sheep & goat’s milk. But in the supermarkets in Brussels & Belgium, you find that it is made from a mix of cow’s, sheep & goat’s milk. But I prefer the mix from sheep & goat’s milk. It has a better flavour.
You can do a lot with halloumi. You can grill or fry it because it will hold his shape during cooking. It has a high melting point. It is lovely in salads, grilled to put in a sandwich with hummus, fried & served alongside vegetables, etc.
In the hot summer, Cypriots like to eat grilled halloumi with watermelon.
Printable Recipe
Recipe: for 2 persons, with a bit of seconds
Ingredients:
2 x 400 gr cans of organic chickpeas, overflown with water & well-drained
275 gr of halloumi cheese, cut into 0,5 cm slices
100 gr of fresh young salad leaves, with spinach leaves & rucola in it
12 cherry tomatoes, cut in half
100 black or Kalamata olives, pitted or not
* For the dressing:
1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice
1 fat clove of garlic, peeled & squeezed
2 tablespoons of olive oil
2 or 3 drizzles of superior light soy sauce
black pepper, grinned
sea salt, grinned
20 gr of fresh coriander leaves, cleaned & finely cut
20 gr of fresh italian flat leaf parsley, cleaned & finely cut up
Method:
1. Take a large bowl & place the drained chickpeas in it. Add the chopped up flat leaf parsley & the chopped up coriander. Mix with a spoon.
2. Make the dressing. Take a little jam pot & place the lemon juice, squeezed garlic, a few grinds of black pepper, some grinned sea salt, not too much because the cheese is salty & you do not want it too be overloaded with salt & the olive oil & a few drizzles of the soy sauce. Put the lid tight on the jam pot. Now, shake the pot up & down to combine the ingredients & flavours. Taste! If necessary, add some sea salt, pepper or soy sauce.
3. Take your grill pan & heat up on high.
4. Mix the dressing with the chickpeas in the bowl. Mix well.
5. Brush a bit of olive oil on each slice of halloumi.
6. When the griddle pan is hot, place the halloumi slices in the grill pan. Place them the way that you will have horizontal stripes on your cheese. That looks so pretty! Brush the upside with olive oil. Grill them for 1,5 to 2 minutes per side.
7. Take your plates & plate up. Lay a bed of fresh leaves in the middle of your plate. Place 3 larger leaves of spinach on the outer skirts in a triangle, that will look pretty! Add a few tablespoons of the chickpeas mix on the top of the salad leaves. Add cherry tomatoes halves on the outside of the plate, 4 or 5 on each plate. In the spaces in between, add the olives, about 5 or 6 per plate. Now, add 4 slices of the grilled halloumi upwards on the salad.
Mmmmm….. Enjoy!!!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Baked Halloumi salad with caper, garlic, lime & mustard dressing with fresh coriander leaves
2. Pea, mint & haloumi patties
3. Sophie’s vegetarian haloumi burger with all of it’s trimmings
4. Fennel & tomato soup with basil & haloumi croutons
Grilled Halloumi Salad With Herby Chickpeas on Foodista
95 responses to “Grilled Halloumi salad with herby chickpeas

  1. Annie says:

    This looks as a lovely & yummie salad!! Thanks, Sophie!!

  2. I’m going to look for some halloumi – it sounds marvelous!

  3. zerrin says:

    I can imagine how halloumi and water melon go very well with raki. Cheers!

  4. Anonymous says:

    This looks delicious. I have been wanting to try Halloumi.

  5. Sara says:

    oops, I’m the anonymous. Sometimes my fingers are too quick for my brain :)

  6. Oh, you know I love cheese! What a yummy salad with that grilled Halloumi.

  7. Clotilde says:

    This is just a salad for me, mmmmmmm…..!!!

  8. Fantastic! I could eat that gorgeous salad any time! Really tempting! Nice presentation…Cheers,Rosa

  9. Maggie says:

    Halloumi and chickpeas sound wonderful together!

  10. Esi says:

    I love halloumi. This salad looks fantastic

  11. Kevin says:

    Grilled halloumi i so good and it would go great in this salad!

  12. Juliana says:

    This looks great! Such a wonderful combination.

  13. Daily Spud says:

    Mmm. I adore halloumi. I adore chickpeas. This sounds like a salad I would like. A lot. :)

  14. MeetaK says:

    i love the slightly salty taste of halloumi cheese and i can really imagine it pairing well with the salad! yum!

  15. Carolyn says:

    I was at the Ritz in Miami Beach yesterday and had this for the first time. Really good. I wonder if they sell it around here.

  16. mmmm i adore halloumi, especially grilled in burgers :) thanks for visiting my blog. you post some delicious meals here. it’s half an hour to midnight and suddenly, i’m all ravenous! :)

  17. Helene says:

    I never tried halloumi but I should. This looks so yummy.

  18. Olga says:

    At first I thought it said halibut :)The salad looks awesome!

  19. Again your read my mind (or my stomach) Sophie and make one of my favourite dishes. I love halloumi (I can eat so much grilled halloumi).

  20. I love your innovative recipes, and I love making new discoveries on your site! I had never heard of halloumi before, but the grilled version is a beautiful vision!

  21. Donna-FFW says:

    Your recipes are so intriguing. I love how creative you are. Its always fun to visit and see what youre cooking up!

  22. Koko says:

    Ive never tried that type of cheese before-looks great!-Kokohttp://www.kokoskitchen.com

  23. Pam says:

    This looks like a terrific salad – the cheese is perfectly cooked.

  24. This sounds delicious. I love chickpeas, especially well seasoned ones. Can’t wait to try it.

  25. This looks great and really healthy. I will be sure to share this with my friends!

  26. This looks delicious. I love vegetarian dishes that were intended to be vegetarian – it’s so much more satisfying to be able to offer vegetarian guests a dish like this than a veggie burger that looks like a hockey puck.

  27. Talita says:

    Gorgeous! That looks really tasteful!

  28. jordan says:

    Wow, I definitely have to try this halloumi stuff! It sounds like something I'd love!

  29. Lisa says:

    I'm really starting to dig the haloumi cheese, and your uses of it make my mouth water! Wishing you and your family the happiest and healthiest New Year!

  30. ~~louise~~ says:

    Me too, I'll be checking for Halloumi on my next shopping spree…

  31. Olen Defaria says:

    Keep working ,great job!

  32. Jocelyn says:

    I wish more people would write blogs like this that are really fun to read. With all the fluff floating around on the net, it is rare to read a blog like this instead.

  33. Gabrielle says:

    This post is very usefull thx!

  34. Hello, you used to write great, but the last few posts have been kinda boring… I miss your super writings. Past few posts are just a bit out of track! come on!

  35. Keep up the superb work, I read few articles on this internet site and I conceive that your web site is rattling interesting and has got bands of wonderful info.

  36. Hi! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  37. Wohh precisely what I was looking for, thanks for putting up.

  38. I’ve been browsing online greater than three hours as of late, but I by no means discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is beautiful worth sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content as you did, the web shall be a lot more useful than ever before. “When the heart speaks, the mind finds it indecent to object.” by Milan Kundera.

  39. You can definitely see your expertise within the work you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. All the time go after your heart. “We may pass violets looking for roses. We may pass contentment looking for victory.” by Bern Williams.

  40. Cleo Herold says:

    Utterly written written content, regards for information. “The earth was made round so we would not see too far down the road.” by Karen Blixen.

  41. Fantastic web site. Lots of helpful information here. I’m sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thank you to your effort!

  42. Very interesting subject, appreciate it for posting.

  43. I like this blog it’s a master piece! Glad I discovered this on google.

  44. Real nice pattern and good subject material , nothing at all else we need : D.

  45. I like this web site so much, saved to favorites. “To hold a pen is to be at war.” by Francois Marie Arouet Voltaire.

  46. But wanna state that this is very helpful , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  47. Good work:) Thank You for this site

  48. SEO Manager says:

    Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  49. Its wonderful as your other content : D, regards for posting . “A lost battle is a battle one thinks one has lost.” by Ferdinand Foch.

  50. niusy says:

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Excellent work!

  51. I like this post, enjoyed this one regards for putting up.

  52. Kermit Dama says:

    I appreciate, cause I discovered exactly what I used to be looking for. You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  53. Thank you! It is very good information

  54. Really nice design and good articles , nothing else we need : D.

  55. erotyka says:

    Good site! I truly love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

  56. Stan Clark says:

    Respect to website author , some fantastic selective information .

  57. I think you have remarked some very interesting points , regards for the post.

  58. Your post is extremely interesting. Can you post again soon?

  59. Good write-up, I am normal visitor of one’s website, maintain up the nice operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

  60. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were handy invaluable

  61. Regards for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting information. “Originality is the fine art of remembering what you hear but forgetting where you heard it.” by Laurence J. Peter.

  62. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  63. Its good as your other articles : D, regards for posting . “The rewards for those who persevere far exceed the pain that must precede the victory.” by Ted W. Engstrom.

  64. [...] encrusted fried haloumi burgers, home-made! You might like: 1. Pea, mint & haloumi patties 2. Grilled haloumi salad with herby chickpeas 3. Baked haloumi salad with a caper, garlic, lime & mustard dressing with fresh coriander [...]

  65. loans says:

    very good submit, i certainly love this web site, keep on it

  66. Thankyou for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting information. “The worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it.” by James Bryce.

  67. Hiya! I simply wish to give a huge thumbs up for the nice data you have here on this post. I will be coming again to your weblog for more soon.

  68. Simply want to say your article is as astounding. The clearness to your post is simply nice and that i can think you are a professional on this subject. Fine along with your permission let me to grasp your RSS feed to stay up to date with forthcoming post. Thank you a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  69. As soon as I observed this website I went on reddit to share some of the love with them. “Love the little trade which thou hast learned, and be content therewith.” by Marcus Aurelius Antoninus.

  70. This actually answered my drawback, thanks!

  71. [...] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Grilled Halloumi salad with herby chickpeas 2. Sophie’s vegetarian haloumi burger with all of it’s trimmings! 3. Pea, mint & [...]

  72. I got what you mean , thankyou for posting .Woh I am happy to find this website through google. “The outcome of the war is in our hands the outcome of words is in the council.” by Homer.

  73. An fascinating discussion is worth comment. I feel that you should write more on this subject, it may not be a taboo topic but usually individuals are not sufficient to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  74. Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your web site is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you’ve on this website. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for extra articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched all over the place and just could not come across. What a perfect site.

  75. It is best to take part in a contest for top-of-the-line blogs on the web. I will recommend this web site!

  76. I gotta bookmark this internet site it seems very beneficial handy

  77. Stop smoking says:

    You should participate in a contest for top-of-the-line blogs on the web. I’ll recommend this web site!

  78. Yon Kieke says:

    Hiya! I simply wish to give a huge thumbs up for the good info you have right here on this post. I will likely be coming again to your blog for extra soon.

  79. very nice post, i actually love this website, carry on it

  80. monster solo hd says:

    Particularly insightful thank you, It looks like your readers would likely want a great deal far more weblog posts along these lines carry around the superior content material.

  81. I like this web blog very much, Its a very nice position to read and receive info . “Perpetual optimism is a force multiplier.” by Colin Powell.

  82. Jamal Stovel says:

    Hello, my name is Jamal Stovel and I’ve got to point out that ” Grilled Halloumi salad with herby chickpeas Sophies Foodie Files ” is without a doubt a quality article.

  83. Len Lampi says:

    Hi, my name is Len Lampi and I need to mention that ” Grilled Halloumi salad with herby chickpeas Sophies Foodie Files ” is a really good entry.

  84. Wonderful, what a webpage it is! This web site provides helpful facts to us, keep it up.

  85. very nice post, i certainly love this website, keep on it

  86. [...] 1. A herby chickpeas & grilled haloumi salad A divine & tasty vegetarian salad! [...]

  87. bookmarking says:

    hpEU3N Muchos Gracias for your article post.Really thank you! Awesome.

  88. Looking forward to reading more. Great blog article.Really thank you! Will read on…

  89. Vaser Shape says:

    Im grateful for the blog post.Really looking forward to read more. Really Cool.

  90. vi peel says:

    I really liked your article.Really looking forward to read more. Really Cool.

  91. I want to voice my passion for your kindness giving support to folks who need help with in this situation. Your special dedication to getting the solution all around came to be really interesting and has without exception empowered girls just like me to realize their objectives. Your new informative key points indicates so much a person like me and still more to my colleagues. Regards; from everyone of us.

  92. [...] 5. Grilled haloumi salad with herby chickpeas & herbs [...]

  93. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how could we communicate?

  94. I wanted to construct a quick message in order to thank you for those stunning ideas you are posting here. My incredibly long internet investigation has now been paid with useful insight to share with my family and friends. I would point out that many of us website visitors actually are unquestionably lucky to exist in a decent site with very many outstanding professionals with insightful solutions. I feel truly happy to have come across your website and look forward to really more fun moments reading here. Thanks once again for all the details.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 951 other followers

