Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Sophie’s Moroccon chicken

on 25/02/2009

I made this last evening. It is a sort of stew. Chicken is rubbed in a spice blend & fried on the stove with onions, garlic & cinnamon barks. Then we add pitted dried prunes & chicken stock. We boil it down until you have a thicker sauce. Finally, we add a bit of butter to have a glossy sauce. This is yummie served with couscous. I allways use precooked couscous. So, here we go!

Printable Recipe
Recipe: For 2 persons
Ingredients:
2 chicken fillets no skin, cleaned & cut into pieces
1,5 tablespoon of bought Moroccan spice blend / I used a bought blend of crushed coriander seeds, green chilipepper, cumin, cinnamon, red bell pepper, tomatoes & a bit of salt.
1/2 lemon, cut up in pieces , to serve with
precooked couscous for 2 persons, in grains
2 white onions, peeled & cut up in wedges
2 large cinnamon barks, broken in 2
275 ml of chicken stock
75 gr pitted dried prunes
2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up
olive oil: 2 tablespoons
butter or baking margarine: 60 gr
Method:
1. Take a large cooking pot, I use my Creuset red pot with fitting lid because Creuset pots will keep the dish warm & hot for a very long time. It is made from cast-iron. It slowly heats up but it holds the heat long! Turn the heat on high. Add 2 tablespoons of the olive oil together with 40 gr of the butter or baking margarine. I use baking margarine. Let it melt.
2. In the meantime, take a plate & put the 1 tablespoon of the Moroccan spice blend in the dish. Add the cleaned chicken pieces & turn the chicken to coat with the spice blend, on both sides.
3. When the butter & oil combination has melted, add the chicken pieces in 1 layer into the hot Creuset pot. Cook the chicken for about 4 to 5 minutes or until browned on both sides. Stir frequently. Turn the heat a bit down if necessary. When done, remove the chicken pieces from the pot & keep warm.
4. Now, add the onion wedges & 2 broken up cinnamon barks. Stir frequently. Cook for about 2 to 3 minutes until you add the chopped up garlic.
5. Now, add the chicken pieces to the pot. Stir well. Add the 0,5 tablespoon of remaining spice blend & the lemon juice. Stir well. Add some sea salt, but not to much because the chicken stock is allready a bit salty! Add a few grinds of black pepper to taste! It has to taste fab!
Now, stir again & put the lid on & cook for about 4 minutes.
6. Now, add the stock & the pitted dried prunes. Bring to the boil. Now, reduce the heat to medium. Cook, uncovered, for about 5 to 10 minutes until the sauce has cooked down & looks more as a sauce.
You do not want to cook it down to fast because when the dish is nearly ready, you add the last 20 gr of butter or baking margarine to make the sauce look glossy & then it thickens the sauce a bit!! You do this off the heat. Stir well.
7. So, from the moment you cook the chicken & sauce for the last 10 minutes, prepare the couscous according to packet instructions. Finally, add a bit of butter to the couscous. You add what ever you want to your couscous, but I kept it simple & plain, this time.
8. Take your plate & place a bit of couscous on 1 side & spoon the stew on the other side! Enjoy!!!
46 responses to “Sophie’s Moroccon chicken

  1. Daan says:

    Sophie, this looks so delicious!! MMM…

  2. Mona says:

    This looks superb, Sophie! i love the flavour combinations!!!!

  3. My mouth is watering Sophie! This looks like one of those gorgeous dishes you get in a Moroccan Tagine but great for people that don’t have a tagine!

  4. That moroccan spice blend and prunes with chicken sounds so delicious. All the juices from the chicken and spices must be so good over the rice.

  5. Looks so delicious! Love the prunes in this..yum yum!

  6. Melissa says:

    This looks so good. I was looking for a yummy chicken recipe for tonight because we have so much chicken in the fridge. This will be great!

  7. Delicious! I love the spices and the prunes in this recipe.

  8. It looks delicious! I love Moroccan food and flavors…Cheers,Rosa

  9. Donna-FFW says:

    This looks DELICIOUS!! I love the choiceof prunes in this recipe! What a winner!!

  10. Sara says:

    This looks great, I love all those spices!

  11. This looks absolutely fabulous. I love the combinations of flavours you’ve used!

  12. Olga says:

    This looks like such a satisfying and warming meal!

  13. Sylvia says:

    Wow Sophie, looks absolutely felicious and tasty

  14. You have the most delicious looking savory dishes! I love the simple morrocan spice blend. This looks amazing!

  15. That dish sounds delicious. :)

  16. This looks wonderful! I always love Moroccan food.

  17. zerrin says:

    So appetizing! Prune is a wonderful idea in this recipe. I love all of your sauces.

  18. what a gorgeous, rich colour – yum!

  19. Pam says:

    I’ve only had Moraccan food once but I loved it. This looks delicious.

  20. Looks really delicious! Sounds like a fantastic flavor combination.

  21. duodishes says:

    Fantastic. It looks rich in flavor!

  22. Carolyn says:

    Sophie, This sounds fantastic! I may just have to try it with the pork I have in the refrigerator.

  23. jesse says:

    Ahhh, this looks fantastic!!

  24. Selba says:

    Yummm….. it looks delicious :)

  25. MeetaK says:

    this is totally my kind of dish! just love the dark rich color of the chicken and sauce!

  26. Nicisme says:

    Looks wonderful, I wouldn’t have thought of using prunes!

  27. Jescel says:

    this looks yummy.. and i love couscous too! they’re like the morrocan chicken tagine.

  28. Oh yummy! I think the cinnamon and prune addition to Morroccan tagines adds such a wonderful flavour and sweetness.

  29. Nila Rosa says:

    OOOO this looks amazing.

  30. That chicken looks sweet and savory at same time with lots of flavor. I love the idea of the cinnamon bark. Makes me hungry.

  31. MMMMMMMmmmmm! I would love a bowl of this! I love how the sweet and savory elements combine in Moroccan food.

  32. Pumpkin says:

    This looks so good! I am going to have to cook this soon. Now, I am hungry! :)

  33. Jan says:

    Now that is my kind of food – it looks lovely!

  34. Femin Susan says:

    yum yum yum yum I will surely try this for my tongue to sit properly.Cheers!

  35. Ali says:

    my mother makes a chicken dish which calls for browning chicken legs with a cinnamon stick. it imparts the most amazing flavor! This looks lovely.PS: I’ve moved: http://www.alexandracooks.com

  36. Kevin says:

    That chicken sounds tasty!

  37. Helene says:

    I can smell this from my home. Looks so good.

  38. I can only imagine the wonderful flavor that the cinnamon and prunes impart to the chicken! Sigh, Sophie, I wish you were my next door neighbor!!

  39. Sophie says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog :)!! I love all of your savory food. This dish sounds fantastic. I love combining sweet and savory ingredients. Very aromatic and mouthwatering dish!

  40. Sapuche says:

    Wow, this looks so amazing, especially with the prunes, cinnamon, and couscous! After seeing the photo you posted and reading through your recipe, I sort of wish I’d made this tonight instead of curry…Ah, well, there’s always tomorrow. Thanks for sharing this!

  41. Dawn says:

    that sauce! I must have that sauce!

  42. There is noticeably a lot to know about this. I feel you made some nice points in features also.

  43. Destiny says:

    hi-ya, I like all your posts, keep them coming.

  44. Isabelle says:

    This post is very usefull thx!

  45. Thanks for pretty impressive post. I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  46. I wish to express my thanks to the writer just for rescuing me from this issue. As a result of browsing through the the net and meeting methods which were not productive, I believed my entire life was over. Living devoid of the solutions to the problems you have resolved all through your good blog post is a serious case, and the kind which may have in a wrong way damaged my entire career if I had not encountered your blog post. Your actual know-how and kindness in controlling all things was crucial. I’m not sure what I would have done if I had not discovered such a point like this. I can now look ahead to my future. Thanks very much for the specialized and sensible help. I will not hesitate to recommend your web site to any person who desires counselling about this area.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,088 other followers

