Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Marinated chicken with soba noodles & stir fried vegetables

on 23/02/2009

This dish I make quite often. Usually, I make the marinade the same way & change the vegetables. I use the vegetables that are in is season. This is also yummie with beef or pork or tofu!

Usually, I make this with soba noodles because they are more healthy!
Printable Recipe
Recipe: For 3 persons
Ingredients:
1 big yellow sweet bell pepper, cleaned, seeds & white parts removed, cut up in little pieces
3 stalks of celery, cleaned, some treads pulled away, cut up into little slices
250 gr of fresh soy shoots
2 sweet onions, peeled & cut up in wedges
260 gr of Japanese soba noodles
2 chicken fillets, cleaned, no skin, cut up into chunks
*For the marinade:
15 tablespoons of neutral olive oil
7 tablespoons of light superior soy sauce
3 cm of fresh ginger, peeled & finely cut up into little pieces
2 tablespoons of honey
Method:
1. First, make the marinade. Take a bowl, large enough to put the marinade & the chicken in. 
2. Add all the ingredients for the marinade together into the bowl. Whisk well so that the ingredients combine together. Now, add the chicken pieces. Toss to coat. I always make enough marinade so that you will have a sauce later on.
3. Sometimes, I add a few cut up vegeables into the marinade. So they will soak up the beautiful flavours! I added the sweet pepper & the celery slices to the marinade. Toss to coat! Put clingfilm over the top & place into the fridge for at leat 1 hour, but 2 to 3 hours is ideal! Normally, I marinate for 3 hours!. Then the chicken meat will be lovely soft at the inside & will has soaked up all the flavours!
4. After 3 hours, take the bowl out of the fridge. Take your wok & smear in with some olive oil. Take a large cooking pot & fill with hot water. Bring to the boil. Add the soba noodles & cook according the packet instructions. Normally, it will be for about 3 to 5 minutes. When ready, drain. Keep warm.
5. Lift the chicken out of the marinade. Keep the marinade. Lift the vegetables out of the marinade.
6. Put the wok on medium high. First, wok the chicken pieces for about 4 to 5 minutes until golden & cooked trough! Add a bit of the marinade & stir well. Put the lid on from time to time,to have a steam effect! Turn the heat on high.You have to stir a lot because you wok! You do not want to chicken to stick to the wok! When done, take the chicken out of the wok & keep warm! Now, add the onion wedges. Add again a bit of the marinade. Wok until cooked trough. This will be about 5 to 7 minutes. Take them out of the wok. 
7. Now, add the marinated vegetables & the soy shoots & wok until tender.The celery has to be cooked but has to have a bit of crunch! Taste! Put the lid on & if necessary add more marinade. When the vegetables are nearly ready, add the chicken, add the onion wedges & add the cooked soba noodles. Add the last of the marinade & put the heat on high! Stir well. Put the lid back on! After a few minutes, the dish will be ready!
Enjoy!!
74 responses to “Marinated chicken with soba noodles & stir fried vegetables

  1. Susie says:

    This dish looks so delicious! I love the flavours, Sophie!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    This looks really delicious, Sophie!!! Yum Yum:)!!!

  3. Mmm, this looks really good!

  4. Carolyn says:

    Sounds really good! I’d love to try it with pork. I love to cook Asian, but have not been doing it lately. Must be time to get back to it.

  5. Lo says:

    This does look delicious.Question: do you sprout your own soy shoots?

  6. I am a huge fan of stir fry. This looks wonderful!

  7. Pam says:

    A comforting and delicious meal. You can’t beat a good stir fry.

  8. Jan says:

    Love stir fry – yours looks really good!

  9. This stir fry looks so delicious – love the noodles!

  10. tamilyn says:

    This has me hungering for some stir fry! Thanks for stopping by :)

  11. Elra says:

    I love stir fry noodles. Unfortunately, I’ve always manage to ruin it every time I make it myself. Either it’s too wet or too dry, I can never get it right. My family even make joke about how bad my stir fry noodle is. Yours look so delicious.Cheers,Elra

  12. This looks delicious. I love noodle dishes, and the marinade looks simply wonderful.

  13. Cheryl says:

    I love Soba noodles,that looks delicious!

  14. Donna-FFW says:

    Soba noodles, stir fry.. delicious. I love all these flavors!!

  15. duodishes says:

    We’ve got to try soba noodles soon!

  16. Simple yet full of flavours! A perfect weeknight meal!

  17. Foodess says:

    Hi Sophie! Thanks for visiting my blog. I lived in Belgium before, too. In Lessines, close to Ath. I ♥ soba noodles.

  18. Sophie, once again your site makes me absolutely hungry -and it’s 2 hours until lunchtime :P

  19. nina says:

    Great minds….I made chicken with soba noodles last night! Your recipe is less complicated and still looks delicious!!!

  20. A delicious noodle stir-fry! I love that kind of food!Cheers,Rosa

  21. What a rich and savory soba feast! I definitely need to use soba more often. Looks beautiful Sophie.

  22. Esi says:

    I love simple dishes like this with lots of flavor. Sounds good!

  23. zerrin says:

    Honey is a great idea for this yummy dish. I’m sure it adds more flavor to it.

  24. doggybloggy says:

    wow – I could smell this in my mind -

  25. I tried something like that a while ago and it wasn’t good. Maybe your recipe will work.

  26. That looks really good. Mmm

  27. gaga says:

    I love soba noodles and haven’t had them ages. This looks scrumptious!

  28. Anonymous says:

    I'm sure it adds more flavor to it.

  29. Well I truly liked reading it. This information provided by you is very useful for proper planning.

  30. Kylie says:

    You’re blogging has really come on when I look back over previous posts. Actually I arrived here from a forum on an unrelated topic. Worth surfing sometimes. Thanks.

  31. Valeria says:

    Hello this is amazing site! really cool and it will be a new inspirations for me

  32. You are my inspiration, I possess few web logs and often run out from brand :). “Truth springs from argument amongst friends.” by David Hume.

  33. Thanks for this howling post, I am glad I discovered this site on yahoo.

  34. I just couldn’t depart your site before suggesting that I actually loved the standard information a person provide for your guests? Is gonna be back steadily to investigate cross-check new posts.

  35. Appreciate it for this howling post, I am glad I found this website on yahoo.

  36. As soon as I found this website I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  37. Excellent post, I will be checking back regularly to look for updates.

  38. I’d perpetually want to be update on new articles on this internet site Marinated chicken with soba noodles & stir fried vegetables Sophies Foodie Files bookmarked!

  39. Hey very nice site!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also・’m happy to seek out numerous helpful info here in the put up, we want work out extra strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing.

  40. I conceive this site has got some real good info for everyone. “Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.” by Napoleon.

  41. I enjoy the efforts you have put in this, thanks for all the great content.

  42. I believe you have observed some very interesting points , appreciate it for the post.

  43. I like this web blog so much, saved to bookmarks. “Nostalgia isn’t what it used to be.” by Peter De Vries.

  44. hello!,I like your writing very much! share we keep up a correspondence more about your article on AOL? I need an expert on this area to resolve my problem. Maybe that’s you! Taking a look ahead to look you.

  45. It is in reality a great and helpful piece of info. I am happy that you shared this useful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  46. I love the efforts you have put in this, regards for all the great content.

  47. Only a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding style and design .

  48. Real nice style and design and superb articles, absolutely nothing else we want :D.

  49. My web site says:

    you’re truly a good webmaster. The web site loading speed is amazing. It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a great activity on this subject!

  50. I discovered your web log site on the major search engines and check several of the early posts. Always maintain up the good operate. I recently additional improve Rss to my WINDOWS LIVE MESSENGER News Reader. Looking for toward reading additional on your part down the road! …

  51. An interesting discussion is worth comment. Good.

  52. Stan Clark says:

    I like this weblog so much, saved to bookmarks .

  53. [...] chicken with a sage & wine sauce, served with lemon oil roasted potatoes & bay leaf carrots 4. Marinated chicken strir fry with soba noodles 5. Stir fried chicken strips with lemongrass, ginger & chili served with brown rice Share this [...]

  54. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read something like this before. So good to find any person with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this website is something that is needed on the internet, someone with slightly originality. useful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!

  55. Wyatt Ziek says:

    My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  56. [...] lemon chicken with coriander Basmati rice & mangetouts 2. Marinated spicy chili chicken 3. Marinated chicken stir-fry with soba noodles & vegetables Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

  57. Rattling nice pattern and fantastic articles , hardly anything else we require : D.

  58. bola tangkas says:

    I believe this internet site contains very superb composed subject material posts.

  59. You have brought up a very excellent points , appreciate it for the post.

  60. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thx again! “All that is gold does not glitter not all those that wander are lost.” by J. R. R. Tolkien.

  61. very interesting points you have observed , regards for putting up.

  62. Utterly indited subject matter, thankyou for entropy.

  63. It’s truly a great and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you just shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  64. Rattling excellent visual appeal on this web site, I’d rate it 10.

  65. It is in reality a nice and useful piece of information. I’m happy that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  66. But wanna state that this is extremely helpful, Thanks for taking your time to write this. “Hollywood is a place where people from Iowa mistake each other for stars.” by Fred Allen.

  67. stivali ugg outlet says:

    There’s noticeably a bundle to find out about this. I assume you made certain nice factors in options also.

  68. [...] 1. Marinated chicken with soba noodles & vegetables stir-fry [...]

  69. I was looking at some of your blog posts on this internet site and I conceive this site is really informative ! Retain putting up.

  70. Flannan says:

    I just wish to explain to you that I’m rather new to blogging and truly savored you’re webpage. Most likely I’m most likely to bookmark your website . You absolutely feature tremendous content articles. Thank you a bunch for sharing with us your webpage.

  71. Delores says:

    Enjoyed studying this, very good stuff, thankyou .

  72. WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..extra wait .. …

  73. Huria says:

    I wish to give thanks for you for this exceptional look at!! I undeniably cherished every tiny bit of it. I have you bookmarked your site to try the newest stuff you submit.

  74. bookmarked!!, I really like your web site!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,096 other followers

