Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Marinated salmon in a spicy crust with sweet potato mash, served with a salad & cherry tomatoes

on 14/02/2009

A tasty & easy to prepare dinner! :)

Printable Recipe
Recipe : for 2 persons
Ingredients:
2 salmon fillets, each 145 gr
2 tablespoons fresh parsley, cleaned & finely chopped/ I used curly parsley
zest of 1 orange / I used a blood orange
1 teaspoon of crushed coriander seeds
1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar
1/2 tablespoon of crushed black peppercorns
1 teaspoon of course sea salt / I used Maldon
6 medium sweet potatoes, peeled & cut into chunks
a mix of salad leaves, of your choice
250 gr cherry tomatoes, cut into 2
juice of the same orange: 3 tablespoons / I used a blood orange
a fruity olive oil
grinned black pepper
baking margarine
Method:
1. First, make the marinade. Clean the fish fillets. Cut each fillet in with a knife, making 3 slices into the fish. Do not cut trough! It is just to push the marinade into the fish.
2. Take a little bowl & place all the ingredients for the marinade in here. So, take the orange zest, the parsley, the crushed black peppercorns, the sea salt, the crushed coriander seeds & the sugar & place them all together in the bowl. Mix well.
3. Put the marinade on top of the fish & place it into the cut slices. Do this with the 2 fish fillets. any left over topping, put it onto the fish. Put cling film over the bowl. Place into the fridge. Leave to marinate for 1 hour.
4. When the fish is in the fridge for 40 minutes, boil the sweet potatoes. Take a large cooking pot & fill with hot water. Bring to the boil. When boiling, add the sweet potato chunks. Boil until tender. Drain. Mash. Add some liquid baking margarine. Taste. Keep warm.
5. When the fish is marinating, make the dressing. Take a clean jam pot with lid. Put 4 tablespoons of fruity olive oil into the jam pot. Add 3 tablespoons of the blood orange. Add 2 grinds of black pepper. Put the lid good on. Shake the jam pot up & down, to let the ingredients mingle well.
6. When the fish has marinated for 1 hour, take the fish out of the fridge. Remove the cling film. Take a large non – stick pan & heat up on medium high. Add some olive oil & some baking margarine. Heat up. When melted, add the 2 fish fillets. Bake or fry until just cooked trough. This takes about 4 or 5 minutes per side.
7. Serve the fish with the sweet potato mash, the salad, the cherry tomatoes & the lovely dressing!
Enjoy! This is lovely with a glass of Jacob’s Creek chardonnay 2005!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
Marinated Salmon In A Spicy Crust With Sweet Potato Mash, Served With A Salad & Cherry Tomatoes on Foodista
68 responses to “Marinated salmon in a spicy crust with sweet potato mash, served with a salad & cherry tomatoes

  1. Susan says:

    This dish looks so appetizing! Yum yum:)!!

  2. zerrin says:

    Your recipes are just calling me. I learn a lot from them. I’ve never heard such a marinade for fish before. But I can see the result in the picture, I’ll certainly try it. Thank you.

  3. Delicious marinade for salmon! The resulting crust looks super yummy!

  4. Ben says:

    This looks superb, Sophie!

  5. Anonymous says:

    This looks as a healthy & yummy dish!yum:)!!

  6. Sonja says:

    This looks so good!!!!! Thanks, Sophie!

  7. Netts Nook says:

    We love salmon can’t wait to try.

  8. Dawn says:

    ooohhh spicy crust!that would be my language!

  9. That meal looks divine–from the coriander and peppercorn encrusted salmon to the mashed sweet potatoes. Thank you for this marvelous meal idea!

  10. This looks delicious Sophie. I always like to see Salmon recipes as Salmon is so healthy and a spicy crust sounds amazing!And it’s very cool that you’ve paired it with an Australian wine! :)

  11. Blood orange sounds great with salmon. Love the pepper crust too!

  12. dh says:

    Sophie this looks wonderful. I’ve been looking for a good salmon recipe, so thanks for this.

  13. Mercina says:

    This looks lovely. I love salmon but I rarely make it myself. Thanks for sharing!

  14. Olga says:

    That salmon looks absolutely amazing!

  15. Carolyn says:

    This looks so good. I love salmon, but I rarely spice it up like this. I will have to try it!

  16. Wow, this dish looks so tasty! I love the marinade, such a variety of flavors and spices. It’s really mouthwatering!

  17. maris says:

    You had me at sweet potato mash. Sounds delicious!!

  18. Judy says:

    Two of my favorite foods – salmon and sweet potatoes. Having them together is nirvana.

  19. Very well written article. It will be valuable to everyone who employess it, including yours truly :). Keep up the good work – for sure i will check out more posts.

  20. Madison says:

    You’re blogging has really come on when I look back over previous posts. Actually I arrived here from a forum on an unrelated topic. Worth surfing sometimes. Thanks.

  21. Emily says:

    This was novel. I wish I could read every post, but i have to go back to work now… But I’ll return.

  22. Whats up very cool blog!! Man .. Excellent .. Superb .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally…I’m satisfied to search out so many helpful information right here within the publish, we’d like develop more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing.

  23. Just wanna comment on few general things, The website design and style is perfect, the written content is rattling great : D.

  24. I gotta bookmark this site it seems very beneficial very helpful

  25. I have been surfing on-line more than 3 hours nowadays, yet I never discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is beautiful worth enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content as you did, the net shall be a lot more useful than ever before. “Dignity is not negotiable. Dignity is the honor of the family.” by Vartan Gregorian.

  26. I think this is among the such a lot significant information for me. And i’m happy studying your article. But wanna commentary on few general things, The site style is great, the articles is really great :D. Good task, cheers.

  27. Thank you for sharing excellent informations. Your website is very cool. I’m impressed by the details that you have on this blog. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the info I already searched all over the place and simply could not come across. What a perfect web site.

  28. Rattling fantastic info can be found on site . “We should be eternally vigilant against attempts to check the expression of opinions that we loathe.” by Oliver Wendell Holmes.

  29. I have recently started a website, the information you offer on this web site has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work. “Her grandmother, as she gets older, is not fading but rather becoming more concentrated.” by Paulette Bates Alden.

  30. This is very fascinating, You are an overly skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your magnificent post. Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  31. I want meeting useful information , this post has got me even more info! .

  32. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such fantastic information being shared freely out there.

  33. I genuinely enjoy reading through on this website, it holds superb blog posts. “And all the winds go sighing, For sweet things dying.” by Christina Georgina Rossetti.

  34. page says:

    Really excellent information can be found on blog . “An executive is a person who always decides sometimes he decides correctly, but he always decides.” by John H. Patterson.

  35. I believe you have observed some very interesting points , thanks for the post.

  36. Some genuinely prime blog posts on this internet site , bookmarked .

  37. Jane Hughes says:

    I used to be recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m no longer sure whether this post is written by way of him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You are wonderful! Thanks!

  38. I have read several excellent stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much effort you put to create such a magnificent informative site.

  39. Dude.. I am not much into reading, but somehow I got to read lots of articles on your blog. Its amazing how interesting it is for me to visit you very often. -

  40. topsoil says:

    Simply desire to say your article is as surprising. The clearness on your submit is simply cool and i can assume you’re an expert in this subject. Well together with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to stay updated with approaching post. Thank you one million and please carry on the gratifying work.

  41. Hello, i feel that i saw you visited my weblog thus i came to “return the choose”.I’m attempting to to find things to improve my web site!I guess its ok to use some of your concepts!!

  42. Thanks for helping out, good information.

  43. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours these days, yet I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It is lovely worth sufficient for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the net shall be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  44. Hey there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I will definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

  45. [...] & fresh oregano marinated beetroots on a bed of watercress 2. Smoked salmon & ricotta wraps 3. Marinated salmon in a spicy crust with sweet potato mash, served with a salad & cherry tomato… 4. Oven baked salmon with orange & ginger, served with spinach & brown rice Ginger, Lemon [...]

  46. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  47. Vanessa B says:

    I really like your writing style, excellent information, regards for putting up :D. “Kennedy cooked the soup that Johnson had to eat.” by Konrad Adenauer.

  48. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thanks again!

  49. [...] haddock, pollack, hake, seabass or red mullet or a thick cut of Mahi-Mahi. You might like this: 1. Marinated salmon in a spicy crust with sweet potato mash, served with a salad & cherry tomato… If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts [...]

  50. Terrific post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Kudos!

  51. Hi there! I just would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the good data you’ve right here on this post. I will probably be coming again to your blog for more soon.

  52. Hello, I really liked this information, I hope you continue updating, Greetings

  53. webtraffic says:

    Hello, I really liked this information, I hope you continue updating, Greetings

  54. As a Newbie, I’m permanently looking online for articles that can assist me. Thank you

  55. lv belt says:

    Can you tell us more about this? I’d care to find out more details.

  56. Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get something done.

  57. Hi my friend! I wish to say that this article is amazing, great written and include approximately all vital infos. I would like to peer more posts like this.

  58. Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs much more consideration. I’ll probably be again to read much more, thanks for that info.

  59. [...] 2. Marinated salmon in a spicy crust with a sweet potato mash & cherry tomatoes [...]

  60. louis vuitton outlet says:

    Can you please send an e-mail to me the code for this script or please inform me in detail concerning this script?

  61. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I抣l be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  62. My wife and i have been very contented when Raymond could complete his homework via the precious recommendations he came across from your site. It’s not at all simplistic to just be making a gift of helpful hints that some people have been selling. We really fully grasp we need you to appreciate for that. Most of the explanations you have made, the simple site navigation, the relationships you will help to engender – it’s mostly powerful, and it’s assisting our son in addition to us know that that topic is brilliant, which is certainly seriously serious. Thanks for all!

  63. I¡¦ve recently started a website, the information you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  64. Thanks for your text. I would love to say a health insurance brokerage also works best for the benefit of the actual coordinators of your group insurance cover. The health insurance agent is given a list of benefits sought by individuals or a group coordinator. Such a broker does is hunt for individuals or coordinators which best complement those needs. Then he presents his referrals and if all parties agree, this broker formulates a contract between the 2 parties.

  65. [...] 3. Marinated salmon in a spicy crust, with a sweet potato mash, side salad & cherry tomatoes [...]

  66. Victoria says:

    This recipe looks quite delicious. Love the combination of the citrus and spices (love coriander)….will give it a try. :)

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 946 other followers

