Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Spicy lentil & tomato soup

on 27/12/2008

 

It was a long time ago that I had a good lentil soup. I looked in my pantry & I had some tins of Cirio : whole little tomatoes, tinned. I had a packet of red lentils lying around. I wanted to add some spices like fresh ginger, ground cumin & some chili powder. So, I did.

 
Recipe: For 5 Persons
Ingredients:
4 tablespoons of Olive oil
1 white onion, peeled & finely chopped
1 teaspoon of cumin powder
1/8 teaspoon of chili powder
3,5 cm of fresh ginger, peeled & finely chopped
2 x 400 gr little tomatoes in their juice, tinned . I use the brand Cirio. You can also use tinned chopped up tomatoes.
150 gr red lentils
1 litre of gluten free vegetable stock
 
Method:
1.Take a large cooking pot & heat up on medium. When the pan is hot, add the 4 tablespoons of olive oil.
2. Add the ginger pieces, cumin & chili powder. Stir well.
3. After a few minutes, add the diced up onion. Stir. Stir from time to time.
4. After 5 minutes, add the lentils & add the 2 tins of whole or chopped tomatoes.
Stir well. Add the vegetable stock. Stir from time to time.
5. Now, heat the heat up a bit. Everything has to come to the boil. Slowly, but surely.
6. When the soup start to boil, count on 15 minutes until the soup, the lentils are cooked. Taste. The soup is now ready & the lentils are cooked trough.
7. You can blend the soup if you like or blend it a bit or leave it chunky like this.
8. I opted for the last version & left the soup like it was. I like my soup like that, from time to time! It is a very thick soup! It really fills you up & it is healthy!
( You can even use the soup as a main course, as a lovely sauce! Add some baked sausages & it could be lovely too!! )
Eat it like that or with some good croutons. You can wait a bit to let the soup cool down a little because the little cooked tomatoes are very hot!
 
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
34 responses to “Spicy lentil & tomato soup

  1. Ben says:

    This soup was so good,……mmmmmmm….!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    This soup was so delicious, Sophie!!! Yummie flavours!!

  3. Manon says:

    This soup was delicious!!! Thanks, Sophie!!

  4. Tomas says:

    This soup was really yummie, Sophie!! Thanks again!!

  5. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  6. Victoria says:

    Just wanted to give you a shout from the valley of the sun, great information. Much appreciated.

  7. Peyton says:

    I just wanted to comment and say that I really enjoyed reading your blog post here. It was very informative and I also digg the way you write! Keep it up and I’ll be back to read more in the future

  8. Best Forums says:

    Very good information can be found on web site.

  9. I was looking through some of your posts on this site and I believe this web site is real informative! Keep on putting up.

  10. Usually I don’t read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite nice post.

  11. I think this web site has very superb indited content blog posts.

  12. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all folks you really recognize what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also talk over with my site =). We could have a link trade agreement between us!

  13. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favourite justification appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to take note of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed even as other people consider issues that they plainly don’t realize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thank you!

  14. As soon as I observed this website I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  15. Len Alicea says:

    Absolutely written content material, appreciate it for entropy. “In the fight between you and the world, back the world.” by Frank Zappa.

  16. Great post, I conceive website owners should larn a lot from this weblog its rattling user genial. So much excellent info on here :D.

  17. But wanna comment on few general things, The website pattern is perfect, the content material is rattling fantastic : D.

  18. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics.

  19. here says:

    I reckon something genuinely special in this internet site.

  20. shopin says:

    Great post. Thank you.

  21. I like this website very much so much superb information.

  22. Simply wanna state that this is handy , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  23. What i do not understood is if truth be told how you’re no longer actually much more smartly-preferred than you might be right now. You’re so intelligent. You already know therefore significantly on the subject of this subject, produced me individually imagine it from numerous numerous angles. Its like women and men are not fascinated unless it is one thing to do with Woman gaga! Your own stuffs great. Always care for it up!

  24. I like this weblog very much, Its a rattling nice billet to read and incur info .

  25. I conceive this internet site contains very wonderful pent subject matter posts.

  26. Regards for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting info . “Nurture your mind with great thoughts.” by Benjamin Disraeli.

  27. [...] cabbage stir fry with apples & raisins 2. Curried lentils, Swiss chard & chickpeas soup 3. Spicy lentil & tomato soup 4. Spicy chorizo & bean soup 5. Spiced sweet potato & coconut soup 6. Spiced summer [...]

  28. Reena Sky says:

    Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I’m very glad to see such magnificent information being shared freely out there.

  29. It is very good web site

  30. Wesele says:

    It is very good news

  31. [...] pumpkin, feta & red onions bread! 5. Spiced pointed cabbage & vegetable soup with chickpeas 6. Spicy lentil & tomato soup Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); [...]

  32. serwis nikon says:

    Hopee every thing works out as you have planned. Best of luck for the new year. Thanks

  33. Found your content very exciting certainly. I definitely enjoyed looking at it and you also make very some superior details. I’ll bookmark this web site for the foreseeable future! Relly fantastic write-up.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 945 other followers

