Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Brussels sprouts with garlic, onion & soy cream

on 26/12/2008

A yummy dinner!

A few evenings ago, I made this for dinner. This is the way, my mother usually makes them. I serve them with boiled potatoes & baked chicken pieces.

Recipe: For 2 persons
Ingredients:
500 gr. brussels sprouts, cleaned, outer dirty leaves removed, the base cut off & cut into 2 & washed
2 fat cloves of garlic, peeled & finely cut up.
1 smal onion, peeled & finely diced
100 to 150 ml of soy cream
gluten free & dairy free baking margarine
Method:
1. You take a large cooking pot & fill it with hot water. Put the lid on. Bring to the boil on a high heat.
2. When the water is boiling, add the cut up brussels sprouts. Boil until just tender, about 5 till 8 minutes.
3. Drain. Keep them in a other pot & put the lid on.
4. Take the same cooking pot & put a swirl of baking margarine in it. When the fat sizzles, add the garlic & onion. Let it sweat on high heat for about 5 minutes until the onion is golden brown.
5. Now, add the soy cream & let it bubble. The cream will thicken & season according to taste! I always add Black pepper & some Maldon sea salt.
You can turn the heat a bit down, otherwise the cream can burn!! After a few minutes, the sauce has thickened & taste again! Season again, if necesssary.
6. Now, add the cooked brussels sprouts & stir carefully! You do not want the brussels sprouts halves to fall apart!
7. Heat them up & turn the heat off & serve at once along side your boiled potatoes & your chicken!
You might like:
1. Caremelised onions & Brussels sprouts soup
2. Brussels sprouts stoemp with sausages
12 responses to “Brussels sprouts with garlic, onion & soy cream

  1. Victoria says:

    Howdy blogger, thank you for providing this article.. I found it first-class.

  2. Emily says:

    hi-ya, I like all your posts, keep them coming.

  3. Good work:) Thank You for this news

  4. Thanks for pretty impressive post. I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

  5. I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site. Reading this information So i’m happy to convey that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most certainly will make sure to don’t forget this web site and give it a look regularly.

  6. [...] carrot stoemp with onion & smoked bacon 3. Caramelized onions & Brussels sprouts soup 4. Brussels sprouts with garlic, onion & soy cream 5. Smoked cheezy kale stoemp served with a tofu burger Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", [...]

  7. [...] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Brussels sprouts with garlic, onion & soy cream 2. Belgian Brussels sprouts stoemp with sausages Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", [...]

  8. Franczyza says:

    Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and brilliant design.

  9. Robert Lyme says:

    excellent publish, very informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of this sector don’t understand this. You must continue your writing. I’m confident, you’ve a great readers’ base already!

  10. Hello! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects? Thanks for your time!

  11. bookmarking says:

    OC3m1S Major thanks for the article.Thanks Again. Keep writing.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 947 other followers

