Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Aromatic sweet peppers with brown rice

on 20/12/2008


I adore this recipe! The sweet peppers are precooked & then filled up & baked in the oven.

Printable Recipe
Recipe: For 4 persons, 1 filled pepper per person
I use brown rice because it fills you up & is more healthy.
Ingredients:
4 sweet peppers, any color you like
1 onion, peeled & finely diced
100 gr. brown rice
175 ml gluten-free chicken stock
30 gr. raisins
80 gr. tomato passata
4 tablespoons olive oil
1,5 tablespoon of fresh parsley, washed, dried on kitchen paper & finely sliced
1,5 tablespoon of fresh mint, washed, dried on kitchen paper & finely sliced
1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
30 gr. pine nuts
Method:
1. Take a pot large enough to cook the rice in. Pour the stock with the rice in the pot & heat up to medium heat. Stir. Cook the rice until all the stock is absorbed or until the rice is cooked. Turn the heat off. Set aside. Keep warm with the lid on.
2. At the same time, prepare the 4 bell peppers. Cut the heads horizontally from the peppers & keep them. Cut al the white parts & seeds out. Take a large pot & heat up on high on the heat that you just used. Fill it with a lot of boiling water from the kettle. When the water is boiling, place the peppers & their heads in the water. Blanch them for about 10 minutes. Turn the heat off. Drain the peppers & their heads. Put them upside down on kitchen paper to pour off the excess water.
3. Use the same heat & take a little pan & heat up. Place the pine nuts in it & shake often. You are going to roast the pine nuts. Watch them!! We do not want burnt nuts! When they are ready, they smell good & are a bit browned on all sides. Set aside.
4. Preheat the oven on 180 °C.
5. Use the heat that you just used. Heat up on medium. Pour 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a pan. Add the cut up onion & let it sweat for about 10 minutes. The onion must be soft, but not brown.
6. Add the tomato passata the herbs, the cinnamon, the raisins, the rice & the pine nuts to the pan. Stir regularly. Bake for about 2 minutes. Season to taste.
7. Put the peppers straight up & fill them with the mixture. Put the heads on top of the filled up peppers. Place them in a fitting oven dish. Pour 100 ml. of boiling water in the oven dish. Sprinkle the rest of the olive oil over the top of the peppers, so, over the heads.
8. Place in the oven & bake for about 30 to 40 minutes or until the peppers are ready.
Enjoy! 1 pepper per person is really enough because it really fills you up!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free! RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
1. Sophie’s festive stuffed pumpkin
2. My mom’s brown baked rice with vegetables dish
47 responses to “Aromatic sweet peppers with brown rice

  1. Manon says:

    I made these last night & they were super delicious!!Thanks!

  2. Anonymous says:

    These lovely paprikas filled with the rice combo was superb, Thanks, Sophie!!

  3. Marie says:

    MMMM…These stuffed bell peppers were delicious, so thanks Sophie!!

  4. Ebony Korner says:

    Very well written post. It will be beneficial to everyone who employess it, including me. Keep up the good work – can’r wait to read more posts.

  5. Melanie says:

    Hey friend can i publish some paragraph of your article on my little blog of university.I have to publish a good articles out there and i really think your post Fits best into it.I will be grateful to give you an source link as well.I have two blogs one my own and the other which is my college blog.I will publish some part in the university blog.Hope you do not mind.

  6. Sweet internet site, super design, really clean and utilize genial.

  7. I like this post, enjoyed this one thankyou for posting .

  8. Loving the info on this web site , you have done great job on the blog posts.

  9. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  10. Howdy very cool website!! Man .. Excellent .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally…I’m glad to search out a lot of helpful information right here within the submit, we’d like develop extra strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing.

  11. Some truly prize content on this website , saved to bookmarks .

  12. Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  13. I went over this internet site and I think you have a lot of good info, saved to fav (:.

  14. [...] 3. Aromatic sweet peppers filled with brown rice GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "333333"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "265e15"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "ededed"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "996633"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "recipes"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "food"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "cooking"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "belgian"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "holidays"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "pork"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

  15. I like this website very much, Its a rattling nice situation to read and find information. “Youth is a wonderful thing. What a crime to waste it on children.” by George Bernard Shaw.

  16. he says says:

    I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were very helpful extremely helpful

  17. Generally I do not learn post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, very nice article.

  18. I reckon something genuinely special in this web site.

  19. Simply wanna say that this is invaluable , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  20. Regards for helping out, great information.

  21. Very superb info can be found on blog . “The fundamental defect of fathers is that they want their children to be a credit to them.” by Bertrand Russell.

  22. I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thanks again!

  23. serwis sony says:

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics.

  24. I consider something really special in this site.

  25. Ryan Tench says:

    Regards for helping out, good information.

  26. Absolutely pent articles, Really enjoyed looking at.

  27. Liza says:

    Some genuinely prize blog posts on this internet site , saved to favorites .

  28. Utterly written written content, Really enjoyed examining.

  29. Wohh precisely what I was looking for, appreciate it for posting.

  30. Thank you for the good writeup. It if truth be told used to be a enjoyment account it. Look advanced to more brought agreeable from you! By the way, how could we keep in touch?

  31. whatever, momoko. i’d like in front of propse a truse to get rid of all an infant foolish arguing in conjunction with wi willl admit, i directed defend a lot. as a result what do everyone say watanabe? Truse?

  32. Enjoyed reading this, very good stuff, regards . “What the United States does best is to understand itself. What it does worst is understand others.” by Carlos Fuentes.

  33. Regards for this terrific post, I am glad I discovered this website on yahoo.

  34. You are my aspiration , I possess few web logs and very sporadically run out from to post .

  35. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you have put in writing this site. I’m hoping the same high-grade site post from you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a great example of it.

  36. Some truly wonderful blog posts on this website, thank you for contribution. “My salad days, When I was green in judgment.” by William Shakespeare.

  37. Max says:

    Howdy very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally…I’m satisfied to search out numerous helpful info right here within the put up, we’d like develop extra strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing.

  38. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  39. Elene Tieman says:

    I do agree with all of the ideas you’ve presented in your post. They are very convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for beginners. Could you please extend them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  40. Thank you, I have recently been looking for info approximately this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I’ve found out so far. However, what concerning the bottom line? Are you positive in regards to the source?

  41. Very interesting points you have noted, thanks for putting up.

  42. Brooke Tyler says:

    Very interesting points you have mentioned , thanks for posting . “The only thing worse than a man you can’t control is a man you can.” by Margo Kaufman.

  43. Biznes plan says:

    Hey! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and great design and style.

  44. You have remarked very interesting points! ps nice site.

  45. Biznes says:

    Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and all. However think about if you added some great visuals or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and videos, this site could certainly be one of the most beneficial in its niche. Excellent blog!

  46. monique says:

    Merely a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding layout. “The price one pays for pursuing a profession, or calling, is an intimate knowledge of its ugly side.” by James Arthur Baldwin.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 945 other followers

