Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Leeks braised with ginger & sherry

on 29/11/2008

I wanted to make dinner with leeks. I love leeks. I had some ginger in the fridge & thought it would be lovely to go with the leeks. I used  Dry Fino sherry.

Recipe, for 2 with seconds
Ingredients:
700 gr. leeks, white & green parts, washed & cut in to little pieces
5 cm. fresh ginger, peeled & finely sliced
Black pepper
Maldon sea salt
3 tablespoons of Dry Fino sherry
baking margarine or butter, to taste
I had some boiled potatoes with this & i baked some chicken fillets.
Chicken fillets: i used 290 gr. for the two of us: cleaned & cut in to pieces.
This goes very well with the chicken.
Method:
1. Take a large cooking pot & fill it with water. Bring to boil. Place the potatoes in it. Cook until tender. For me, that was 20 minutes.
2. In another large pot, put the baking margarine & heat up to medium. When the margarine is bubbling, put the ginger pieces in it. Stirr & bake for about 4 minutes. Add the cut up leeks to it & stirr wel. I allways, add a little bit of water so that the leeks don’t stick to the pot. Put a lid on the pot. After 5 to 8 minutes, add the 3 tablespoons of sherry to the leeks & ginger. Stirr wel. Let the sherry evaporate. Grind some Black pepper & some Sea salt to taste. It has to taste lovely!
3.At the same time, take a large pan & heat up. Put some baking margarine in it. When the heat is oke, place the chicken pieces in it & bake for about 5 minutes each side until tender. I put some chicken spices on top.( kippenkruiden ) like we call it in Dutch. 
4. When the potatoes are tender, turn the heat of. Drain. Set aside & keep warm.
5. When the chicken is tender, turn the heat of & set aside & keep warm.
6. Taste the leeks. They have to be tender.
7. Take your serving plate & enjoy!
34 responses to “Leeks braised with ginger & sherry

  1. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I will learn plenty of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  2. Mya says:

    Good post! I have a random question for you. How do you get your blog indexed by bing? I have a related web blog.

  3. I like this blog very much so much good information. “Our national flower is the concrete cloverleaf.” by Lewis Mumford.

  4. Thanks a ton for being my own teacher on this area. We enjoyed your own article a lot and most of all appreciated how you really handled the issues I considered to be controversial. You happen to be always very kind to readers really like me and aid me in my existence. Thank you.

  5. I always was interested in this topic and stock still am, regards for posting .

  6. Some truly wonderful articles on this internet site , thankyou for contribution.

  7. Good article. I used to be checking constantly to this blog & I am so impressed! Extremely useful info, especially the first few part. I really want this kind of information. I was seeking this particular info for quite some times. Thanks and good luck.

  8. I am impressed with this website, very I am a fan.

  9. I’m still learning from you, while I’m trying to reach my goals. I absolutely liked reading everything that is posted on your site Leeks braised with ginger & sherry Sophies Foodie Files Keep the information coming. I loved it!

  10. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thanks again!

  11. I like this web blog very much, Its a really nice position to read and get info. “Nothing can be pleasing which is not also becoming.” by Quintilian.

  12. Hi, Neat post. There is an issue together with your site in internet explorer, might check this… IE still is the marketplace chief and a huge part of folks will omit your excellent writing because of this problem.

  13. Leann Olten says:

    Keep up the wonderful work , I read few posts on this internet site and I believe that your blog is really interesting and has circles of great information.

  14. Aidan Bryan says:

    Of course, what a fantastic site and informative posts, I definitely will bookmark your website.All the Best!

  15. you are in reality a just right webmaster. The web site loading pace is amazing. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. In addition, The contents are masterwork. you have done a wonderful process on this subject!

  16. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you’ve gotten hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the issue is one thing that not sufficient people are talking intelligently about. I’m very pleased that I stumbled across this in my seek for one thing regarding this.

  17. click HERE says:

    You have observed very interesting points! ps decent website.

  18. this post says:

    Someone necessarily assist to make significantly posts I would state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page and up to now? I surprised with the research you made to make this actual submit incredible. Wonderful process!

  19. It’s in point of fact a great and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you just shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  20. Sharri Esper says:

    I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thx again!

  21. I genuinely enjoy reading on this web site , it contains superb posts . “Do what you fear, and the death of fear is certain.” by Anthony Robbins.

  22. What a great website. I am happy I found it.It’s nice to read something interesting I cannot find subscription list

  23. Generally I do not read post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, very great article.

  24. Long Siebers says:

    Hi there very cool blog!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally・ am happy to seek out so many helpful info here in the submit, we’d like work out extra strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing.

  25. There’s noticeably a bundle to find out about this. I assume you made certain nice factors in options also.

  26. I like this website very much, Its a really nice position to read and incur info. “Curiosity is one of the permanent and certain characteristics of a vigorous mind.” by Samuel Johnson.

  27. Thank you! It is very good information

  28. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  29. Resdourcess like the one you mentioned here will be very usseful to me! I will post a link to this page on my blog. I am sure my visitors will find that very useful.

  30. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

  31. Telma Cara says:

    of course like your website but you have to test the spelling on several of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very troublesome to inform the reality on the other hand I’ll certainly come back again.

  32. Back Links says:

    Awesome writing style!

  33. EGO-C says:

    Awesome writing style!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 951 other followers

