Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Jerusalem artichokes & fennel soup

on 22/11/2008

Yum!

I needed a comforting soup today. Why? because it was snowing outside, oh yes, indeed! Snowing in Brussels! It was also cold. I was looking what I had in the fridge.
So, from the leftovers I made this soup.
For about 8 persons
Recipe:
Ingredients:
1 large fennel bulb, cleaned & the hard rough bit at the bottom, cut out
1 large white onion, peeled & finely sliced
900 gr. Jerusalem artichokes, weight with skin on, peeled, cut in chunks & put in acid water
1 potato, peeled, washed & cut in chunks
1 litre of gluten-free vegetable stock
Olive oil
Sea salt
Black Pepper
Method:
1. Take a large cooking pot or a fast cooking pot. Heat up to a high heat.
2.When the pot is hot, put 2 or 3 tablespoons of Olive oil in the hot-pot.
3. Add the sliced onion. Stir well. Fry for about a few minutes until nearly golden.
4. Add the sliced fennel to the pot. Stir well with the onion. Fry for about 10 minutes until slightly browned.
5. After 10 minutes, add the Jerusalem artichokes & the stock.
6. I use my fast cooking pot, so I put the special lid on. In that pot, it takes 10 minutes & the soup will be ready.
7. I never make my soups the other way.
8. But if you do not have a fast cooking pot, cook the soup until all the vegetables are tender.
9. Put the soup in the blender to make it smooth.
10. This soup tastes delicious & is a reasonable thick soup.
I eat it with some crusty bread on the side!
Enjoy!
You might like:
1. Jerusalem artichokes with garlic, bay leaf & bacon
2. Corn & fennel soup with a touch of lemon served with Parmesan thyme crisps
3. Delia’s Jerusalem artichokes & carrot soup
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
41 responses to “Jerusalem artichokes & fennel soup

  1. This soup looks lovely! I’ve recently discovered the sunchokes and it’s now one of my favorite ingredients.

  2. Your soup looks wonderful! I’d love to give this a try.

  3. These artichokes are a favorite of mine. One variety grows wild here in New England, and I can never seem to get enough!

  4. Lore says:

    Right up my alley: creamy and a great flavour paring!

  5. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

    • Sophie33 says:

      Hello Bernard!
      When you go to my home page, in the top right side bar, you wee: RSS posts & RSS comments. When you click on either of them, you will be recieving RSS updates of my blog through your RSS in your computer. You can also enter your email adress in the box below , under the RSS buttons. You write your email adress in it & click onto: Sign me up ! & then you will have to confuirm this on your email & the rest is easy! Then it will be okey!! ;)

  6. Anna says:

    This was novel. I wish I could read every post, but i have to go back to work now… But I’ll return.

  7. Madeline says:

    This is a really great blog. Thx to the auther

  8. Real nice pattern and superb content , absolutely nothing else we want : D.

  9. Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your site is very cool. I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this blog. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the information I already searched everywhere and simply could not come across. What a great website.

  10. You have noted very interesting details ! ps decent site.

  11. This is really attention-grabbing, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and sit up for looking for extra of your magnificent post. Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  12. I was looking through some of your articles on this internet site and I conceive this website is rattling instructive! Keep on posting.

  13. I have recently started a web site, the info you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work.

  14. Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information. “Every man is the architect of his own fortune.” by Appius Claudius.

  15. Keep up the great work, I read few posts on this site and I conceive that your weblog is rattling interesting and has got bands of great information.

  16. Very interesting points you have noted , regards for posting . “The judge is condemned when the criminal is absolved.” by Publilius Syrus.

  17. read more says:

    I really like your writing style, wonderful information, regards for putting up : D.

  18. I went over this website and I think you have a lot of excellent info, saved to fav (:.

  19. You have mentioned very interesting details! ps decent site.

  20. Generally I do not learn post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very great article.

  21. Some really wonderful content on this site, thanks for contribution.

  22. this says:

    I like this weblog it’s a master piece! Glad I noticed this on google.

  23. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics.

  24. shopin says:

    Great post. Thank you.

  25. I will right away clutch your rss feed as I can’t in finding your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have any? Please permit me understand in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Hey there,

      In my right column, you will find subscribe by RSS & subscribe by email. Just fill in your email adresse & click onto sign me up! Just follow the directions given!

  26. you are actually a just right webmaster. The site loading speed is amazing. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a magnificent job on this topic!

  27. I like this site its a master peace ! Glad I noticed this on google. “Irrationally held truths may be more harmful than reasoned errors.” by Thomas Huxley.

  28. Amado Byus says:

    It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

  29. […] to serve: baked potato wedges Method: 1. Preheat the oven to 200°C ( 392 F ) for 10 minutes. 2. Take 2 large oven roasting tins & divide the fennel pieces all over them in 1 layer. Arrange the orange segments, their juice & the olives between the fennel pieces. 3. Add a few drizzles of the fruity EVOO all over the 2 dishes. Divide the 150 ml of the Pastis over the 2 dishes. With your hands mingle everything together. Season the chicken pieces on both sides with the sea salt flakes & grinds of fresh black pepper & snuggle them on top or between the fennel pieces. Top the dishes with the fennel fronds. 4. Place into the center of the preheated oven & bake for about 30 to 35 minutes until everything is roasted & ready & until the chicken is moist & cooked trough. 5. When the 2 dishes are ready, turn the oven off & let the dishes sit in there for about 5 minutes to let the chicken rest. 6. Serve at once with some baked potato wedges. Enjoy!! Don't you want to dig in, instantly??? If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophies Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Grilled marinated pork served with oven roasted potatoes & braised fennel with Pastis 2. Fennel & tomato soup with haloumi croutons 3. Fennel & corn soup with a touch of lemon served with parmesan thyme crisps 4. Jerusalem artichokes & fennel soup […]

  30. […] like this post, why not subscribe to my posts, it is for free: RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Jerusalem artichokes & fennel soup 2. Jerusalem artichokes with garlic, bay leaf & bacon Delia’s Jerusalem Artichokes […]

  31. […] 7. Jerusalem artichokes & fennel soup Share this tasty post:Print me & PdfEmailLike this:LikeOne blogger likes this post. […]

  32. […] this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Jerusalem artichokes & fennel soup 2. Corn & fennel soup with a touch of lemon & served with Parmesan thyme crisps Fennel […]

  33. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful information particularly the last part :) I care for such information much. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  34. Good web site! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes it is. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS feed which may do the trick? Have a great day!

  35. Many thanks for an incredible publish, can study your others reviews. many thanks for your ideas on this, I experienced a bit thump by this article. Thanks again again! You commit an excellent time. Displays the beauty through fantastic facts here. I feel that when more individuals thought about it doing this, they’d possess a better time frame get the suspend ofing the situation.

  36. social says:

    I truly appreciate this article post.Thanks Again. Awesome.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,129 other followers

