Sophies Foodie Files

Mostly healthy & tasty colourful cooking with Sophie's twist!

Quinoa flakes with banana, roasted pecans, milk & agave syrup

on 20/11/2008

Printable Recipe
Yesterday,  had this for breakfast. I adore this combination. This is also delicious with roasted walnuts instead of the pecans. Maple syrup is a lovely alternative to the agave. I buy my quinoa flakes at my local food health store.

Quinoa: what is it ?

medium sized quinoa flakes

Quinoa (pronounced : keen wa ) is an ancient grain. It has been cultivated at the Andes Mountains since thousand of years. Quinoa is very rich in fibres. It has twice as much iron & magnesium than other grains. It is a great source of high quality protein.
Agave syrup: what is it?
Agave syrup is syrup made from the agave plant. In Mexico, the Mexicans use this juice to make tequila. Tha agave syrup is a natural sweetener. It is about 25 % more sweet than normal sugar.
But it has better capacities than ordinary sugar.
The glycemic index of the agave (11 til 19) is less than the glycemic index of normal sugar. ( 68 )
The result of that is that the energy slowly releases itself in to the bloodstream. That means that there are much fewer changes in to the glycemic levels. Agave has from nature itself, a high concentration of fructose & the sweetmaker inulin. It can be easily dissolved in water.
That’s why you can easily replace it with sugar in baking, desserts, yoghurt, pancakes,muesli,cookies,….
So agave is good for you: you take a little & it goes a long way!!!
Ingredients:
1 cup quinoa flakes
1 cup milk
1 banana, peeled & sliced
8 pecans
agave syrup : a good swirl ( a little bit goes a long way,…)
Method:
1. Take a medium-sized cooking pot & place the 1 cup of quinoa & the 1 cup of milk in it. You could choose to take 2 cups of each. But I know with 1 cup of each, I have enough, because it really fills you up.
2.Turn the heat up.Stir frequently with a wooden spoon or whisk everything together.
3. It will take about 10 minutes before it’s ready. After that, it will take 5 minutes to swell. Then it is ready to eat.
4.In the meantime, take a little pan & turn the heat on medium. Place the pecans in the pan. Roast them for about 5 minutes. Shake the pan occasionally. Watch out! You do not want to burn the pecans! When the pecans are ready, turn the heat of.
5.When everything is ready, take a bowl & spoon the quinoa porridge in the bowl. Top with the banana pieces & roasted pecans & pour a good swirl of agave over the top.
Delicious!
If you liked this post, SUBSCRIBE to Sophie’s Foodie Files: It is free!  RSS Feed RSS – Posts
You might like:
Quinoa Flakes With Banana, Roasted Pecans, Milk & Agave Syrup on Foodista
54 responses to “Quinoa flakes with banana, roasted pecans, milk & agave syrup

  1. Susan says:

    This was so lovely,….& healthy too! MMMMM… I have learned a lot!!! Thanks, Sophie!!

  2. Susie says:

    This is lovely, Sophie! Thanks for the info!!

  3. Looks delicious and healthy. I would love this with bananas and pecans.

  4. I haven’t cooked with quinoa yet although I’ve been saving so many recipes from fellow bloggers recently. Yours is the first to use it for a sweet-ish dish and the first using flakes. I hope I’ll be able to find it – this looks so delicious!

  5. This looks like a great breakfast. I’ve never used quinoa flakes, but now I’ll have to find them.

  6. I might make this on the weekend. I haven’t used my quinoa which I got for Christmas but this sounds like a delicious breakfast indeed!

  7. Toshia Sysak says:

    My spouse and i felt absolutely contented that Michael could finish off his studies from your precious recommendations he made through the weblog. It is now and again perplexing to just be giving out information which often most people could have been selling. And we do understand we have the blog owner to appreciate because of that. The explanations you have made, the easy website menu, the relationships you will help create – it’s many fabulous, and it’s helping our son and the family believe that that issue is exciting, which is truly important. Thank you for the whole lot!

  8. Natalie says:

    I have really enjoyied reading your well written article. It looks like you spend a lot of effort and time on your blog. I have bookmarked it and I am looking forward to reading new articles. Keep up the good work!

  9. Destiny says:

    i’d love to share this posting with the readers on my site. thanks for sharing!

  10. What i don’t realize is in reality how you are no longer really a lot more well-preferred than you might be now. You’re very intelligent. You understand therefore significantly when it comes to this topic, made me in my opinion consider it from a lot of varied angles. Its like men and women aren’t fascinated until it’s one thing to accomplish with Woman gaga! Your personal stuffs outstanding. At all times handle it up!

  11. Gdansk Busy says:

    I really liked your blog! It helped me alot…

  12. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  13. Very interesting topic, regards for posting.

  14. Some genuinely good blog posts on this website , thankyou for contribution.

  15. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is excellent blog. An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

  16. I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thanks again!

  17. I like this weblog very much so much superb information.

  18. Very interesting subject , thanks for posting . “Remember when life’s path is steep to keep your mind even.” by Horace.

  19. mulch says:

    As soon as I discovered this website I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  20. Very interesting points you have mentioned , appreciate it for posting . “Ignorance, the root and the stem of every evil.” by Plato.

  21. rekuperatory says:

    Utterly composed content material, thank you for information. “The last time I saw him he was walking down Lover’s Lane holding his own hand.” by Fred Allen.

  22. I gotta favorite this website it seems very useful handy

  23. Rattling nice design and style and wonderful content material, nothing else we need :D.

  24. Some really nice and useful information on this web site, as well I think the layout contains wonderful features.

  25. Chung Iguina says:

    I visited a lot of website but I conceive this one has got something special in it. “In the arithmetic of love, one plus one equals everything, and two minus one equals nothing.” by Mignon McLaughlin.

  26. Katy Hickman says:

    Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and internet and this is actually annoying. A good site with exciting content, this is what I need. Thank you for keeping this web-site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

    • Sophie33 says:

      Hey there,

      At my homepage , in the right coloum, you will find: RSS subscription by email. Just fill out your email adresse & click onto sign me up! Just follow the directions of this email. Bye!

  27. Katelynn says:

    I enjoy your writing style genuinely loving this website. “Make no judgements where you have no compassion.” by Anne McCaffrey.

  28. Wow! This could be one particular of the most beneficial blogs We’ve ever arrive across on this subject. Basically Wonderful. I’m also an expert in this topic so I can understand your hard work.

  29. wonderful post, quite informative. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this sector do not notice this. You should continue your writing. I’m confident, you have a great readers’ base already!

  30. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say superb blog!

  31. Good work:) Thanks for this news

  32. An interesting discussion is worth commennt.

  33. [...] Gluten-Free, Vegetarian ) 3. Quinoa, banana & pecan smoothy ( Gluten-free, Vegetarian ) 4. Quinoa breakfast with banana, pecans & milk ( Gluten-free, Vegetarian ) Sophie’s Cold Quinoa & Broccoli, Corn, Yellow Bell Pepper & Parsley Salad [...]

  34. [...] is free!   RSS – Posts You might like: 1. Sophie’s quinoa, banana & pecan smoothie 2. Quinoa flakes with banana, roasted pecans, milk & agave syrup 3. A strawberry smoothie & 2 awards 4. Sophie’s breakfast smoothie 5. Wake up smoothie 6. [...]

  35. woh I am lucky to find this website through google.

  36. Hi, Thank you for this specific material I had been seeking all Yahoo to be able to locate it!

  37. Hello, I want to subscribe for this weblog to get newest updates, thus where can i do it please help out.

  38. Wonderful website. Lots of useful info here. I am sending it to several buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And naturally, thanks for your effort!

  39. lv belt says:

    I cling on to listening to the newscast talk about getting free online grant applications so I have been looking around for the most excellent site to get one. Could you advise me please, where could i acquire some?

  40. Yu Strizich says:

    I must get across my admiration for your kind-heartedness giving support to those people who actually need help on your question. Your real dedication to getting the solution all over was rather effective and have regularly encouraged some individuals like me to realize their aims. This useful report entails so much to me and a whole lot more to my office workers. Thanks a lot; from everyone of us.

  41. What’s up to every , as I am truly eager of reading this website抯 post to be updated on a regular basis. It contains fastidious stuff.

  42. Definitely, what a splendid site and informative posts, I definitely will bookmark your website.All the Best!

  43. I¡¦m no longer sure the place you are getting your information, but great topic. I must spend a while finding out more or working out more. Thank you for wonderful info I used to be on the lookout for this information for my mission.

  44. I all the time emailed this webpage post page to all my friends, because if like to read it next my friends will too.

  45. My spouse and i have been so joyous Raymond managed to do his researching using the precious recommendations he came across out of the web page. It is now and again perplexing just to be giving away helpful tips that many the others have been trying to sell. And we also remember we have got you to be grateful to for that. The most important explanations you’ve made, the straightforward web site navigation, the relationships you assist to engender – it is many unbelievable, and it’s leading our son and our family reason why that subject matter is brilliant, which is certainly exceedingly serious. Many thanks for the whole thing!

  46. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog. I’m hoping the same high-grade web site post from you in the upcoming also. Actually your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own blog now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a great example of it.

  47. lv belt says:

    Hi there, You’ve done a great job. I will definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this website.

  48. [...] 3. Quinoa flakes porridge with banana, roasted pecans, milk & agave syrup [...]

  49. afracooking says:

    As you havent posted for a while I went back to some of your older recipes – so fab!

  50. Souls in the Waves

    Fantastic Morning, I just stopped in to visit your internet site and considered I’d say I enjoyed myself.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,098 other followers

